Campaigning winding down as Early Voting ends Thursday, May 3 Primary on Tuesday

Published 6:00 pm Monday, April 25, 2022

Saturday saw 148 voters turn out on the last weekend for Early Voting in the May 3 Primary.
Voters have until Thursday to vote early for the candidates they support for the offices of Carter County Mayor, Sheriff, Trustee, Clerk, Register of Deeds, Circuit Court Clerk, and Highway Superintendent along with county commissioners and constables for each of the eight county districts.
Also on the ballot will be candidates for Judgeships and Attorney General.
“The voting has been a little lower with what we saw in the 2018 election,” said Tracy Harris, administrator of elections. “In 2018, there were 2,900 votes cast through the last Saturday and this year we are at 2,545 with 2,375 in person and 170 absentee.”
Campaign workers continue to man their candidates signs from opening to close each day as the days quickly pass leading up to the election.
On Monday, Harris released the polling locations for each of the eight county districts for the May 3 Primary. They are as follows:
First District
Hunter Precinct
Hunter Elementary School
145 Hope St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Midway Precinct
Stony Creek VFD #3
2780 Hwy. 91
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Unaka Precinct
Unaka Elementary School
120 Unaka Dr.
Elizabethton, Tn 37643
Second District
Roan Mountain Precinct
Cloudland Elementary School
8540 Hwy. 19E
Roan Mountain, TN 37687
Tiger Valley Precinct
Hampton High School
766 First Avenue
Hampton, TN 37658
Third District
Central Precinct
Central Elementary School
252 Taylortown Rd.
Johnson City, TN 37601
Keenburg Precinct
Keenburg Elementary School
139 Keenburg Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Range Precinct
Fairview Baptist Church Fellowship Hall
585 Watauga Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Watauga Precinct (W)*
Watauga City Hall
104 W. Fourth Ave.
Watauga, TN 37687
Fourth District
Courthouse Precinct
Main Courthouse
801 Elk Ave.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Eastside Precinct
Eastside Elementary School
800 Siam Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
National Guard Precinct
National Guard Armory
128 Judge Don Lewis Blvd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Siam Precinct
Siam Consolidated Learning Center
2453 Siam Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Fifth District
Happy Valley Precinct
Happy Valley Elementary School
1840 Milligan Hwy.
Johnson City, TN 37601
Sixth District
Elk Mills Precinct
Elk Mills Volunteer Fire Department
107 Poga Rd.
Butler, TN 37640
Hampton Precinct
Hampton Elementary School
408 Hwy. 321
Hampton, TN 37658
Little Milligan Precinct
Little Milligan Elementary School
4226 Hwy. 321
Butler, TN 37640
Valley Forge Precinct
Valley Forge Elementary School
1485 Riverview Dr.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Seventh District
Gap Creek Precinct
Happy Valley High School
121 Warpath Ln
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Westside Precinct
Westside Elementary School
1300 Burgie St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Eight District
Harold McCormick Precinct
Harold McCormick Elementary School
226 S. Cedar Ave.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
High School Precinct
T.A. Dugger Jr. High School
305 West E St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
The central absentee counting board and canvassing board will be at the Election Commission Office located at 116 Holston Ave. in Elizabethton.
Voters are reminded to bring a State of Tennessee Photo ID or Federal issued Photo ID with them to the polls or they will have to go through the process of voting a provisional ballot.
If a voter has moved or changed their name and has not notified the Election Commission Office previous to Election day, they will be required to follow fail-safe procedures and may experience a delay in voting and could possibly be required to go to a different polling place.
For any voter with questions about their voting location or state, Harris said to contact the Election Commission at 423-542-1822 or email

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox