Field set for city elections

Published 11:50 am Monday, September 1, 2014

The withdrawal deadline drew no withdrawals for the upcoming municipal election this November.
The deadline for candidates to withdraw from the November ballot was at noon Thursday. Carter County Election Commission officials said no one asked to be removed from the city ballots.
The election will include seats on the Elizabethton City Council, the Elizabethton Board of Education and the Watauga City Commission.
Four council seats and two school board seats will be on the ballot.
Seats in play during the November election are currently held by Elizabethton City Council members Nancy Alsup, Bill Carter, Sam Shipley and Richard Tester; Board of Education members Catherine Armstrong and Connie Baker; and Watauga commissioners Delisa LaFleur and Mickey Fair.
Carter, Shipley and Tester will seek re-election, while Alsup will not.
They will be joined on the ballot by newcomers Junior Edward Stanley, Erik Kitchens and Danny Frazier.
Candidates for school board are Travis Sexton, Susan Peters and John Tyler Fleming. Armstrong and Baker are not running for re-election.
In Watauga, LaFleur and Fair are the only candidates for city commission.
To qualify to be a candidate, individuals must have lived in the city limits for one year. In addition, school board candidates need to have a high school diploma or GED.
The deadline for voter registration for the municipal election is Oct. 6.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox