14 valedictorians among Johnson County graduates

Published 9:55 am Friday, May 15, 2015

Johnson County High School will host its commencement ceremony for the Class of 2015 at 10 a.m. Saturday in the school’s gymnasium.

JCHS Senior Advisor Michael Eggers shared his pride in the JCHS Class of 2015.

“This has always been a group, who as a whole, has gone above and beyond,” Eggers said. “They are a group of very smart, talented students.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

One hundred and eighty students will graduate this year. The 2015 Johnson County graduating class has 14 valedictorians. These are all students who received a 4.0 grade point average and took a “rigorous” course schedule, Eggers said.

Valedictorians are Kristy Eastridge, Leanna Garrett, Evan Hammons, Victoria Israel, Casey Lunceford, Austin Norris, Nataniel Plyler, Lisa Potter, Alberto Rosado, Kalli Sluder, Weston Smith, Michelle Snyder, Mitchell Stockinger and Nathan Timbs.

Speakers during the graduation ceremony will consist of members of the graduating class. Mitchell Stockington will give the address on behalf of the valedictorians.

Student Bailey Spencer will sing “I Lived,” and Courtney Stout will sing “Whenever Your Remember.”

Students are given six tickets for family and friends to attend the graduation in the school’s gym. Overflow seating for people without tickets is available in the school’s cafeteria, where the ceremony will be broadcast.