12 applicants submit resumes to become new EPD Chief

Published 9:04 am Monday, October 10, 2016

Star Photo/Curtis Carden                                    The Elizabethton Police Department saw 12 applicants put in their resume for the facility's chief of police position.

Star Photo/Curtis Carden
The Elizabethton Police Department saw 12 applicants put in their resume for the facility’s chief of police position.

A decision on a new permanent chief of police for the Elizabethton Police Department will be made in the coming weeks.
The city has searched for a new police chief following the resignation of Greg Workman, who resigned during the week of September 11. Workman went on to serve as the city’s purchasing director, a position left vacant following the resignation of Gerald Harrell.
Since that time, Capt. Jason Shaw with the EPD has served as the interim chief of police.
The Elizabethton Star acquired a list of applicants from City Hall on Friday, Oct. 7 — the deadline for applications — at noon. A total of 12 applicants are in the running for the position, including Shaw.
Of the 12, four have experience within Carter County.
• Along with Shaw, one of the names in the running is former Carter County Sheriff Chris Mathes. Mathes is currently serving as a public safety officer on the East Tennessee State University campus. Timothy Horne is currently with the Carter County Sheriff’s Department and serves as a lieutenant in the Criminal Investigations Division. Another name in the running is Kelly Bowers. While currently serving as an officer with the City of Kingsport, she previously worked at both the CCSO and EPD.
Other applicants for the position include:
• Randy Phelps — Lieutenant with Humphrey County Sheriff’s Office in Waverly.
• Kenneth Davis — Assistant Director with the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA). Previously worked with the Jefferson City Police Department.
• Daniel Terry — Detective Commander with the City of Elmhurst, Ill., Police Department.
• James Nygaard — Lead Investigator with the Office of the State Attorney in Florida. Previously worked with the Fort Pierce Police Department in Florida.
• Robert Fisher — Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Basic Law Enforcement Director. Previously worked with the UNC at Asheville Police Department.
• David Hindman — Previously served as the Chief of Police for the Millersville Police Department in Goodlettsville.
• Charles A. DeMar — Previously worked at Smith Brothers Harley-Davidson in 2006. Cites 30 years of experience in the Marine Corps.
• James Paris — Security One in Memphis. Previously served as the Town of Mason Police Chief through 2015.
With the application process out of the way, the City of Elizabethton will begin the interview process and begin to narrow down candidates before naming a chief at a later date.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox