Election Commission to meet Monday in reorganization session

Published 2:30 pm Friday, April 14, 2017

Members of the Carter County Election Commission will meet in a special reorganization session on Monday.

The reorganization meeting will take place at 9 a.m. on Monday, April 17, in the conference room at the Carter County Election Commission Office, which is located at 116 Holston Ave., Elizabethton.

Under state law, each county in Tennessee has a five-member Election Commission.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“The majority is determined by who holds the State Legislature, which is the Republicans so they have three seats, and the Democrats have two,” Carter County Administrator of Elections Tracy Harris said.

During the reorganization process, the members of the Election Commission can change. Members of the County Election Commission are appointed by the State Election Commission based on the recommendation of the County Republican and Democratic Party chairs along with recommendations by the county’s elected representatives in the State Legislature.

Harris said she had received no official notice from the State Election Commission that any members of the Carter County Election Commission are being replaced, but she had been informed that three of the current members are “on hold” at this time.

In addition to the potential for new appointments to the Carter County Election Commission, Harris said the group’s members are slated to select officers — a chairman, vice-chairman, and secretary.

The reorganization meeting is open to the public.

For more information regarding the Carter County Election Commission, contact the office at 423-542-1822.