Elizabethton to graduate productive senior class

Published 10:38 pm Wednesday, May 17, 2017

For Elizabethton High School, 2016-17 was one for the ages.
The build-up for the senior class will reach a fever pitch on Saturday, May 20, at 10 a.m. inside John Treadway Gymnasium as the student body look to make their next step in their academic and professional careers.
This year’s group was a special group of students, according to EHS Principal Josh Boatman.
“I want to say thank you to each and every student for his or her efforts and for each and every prideful representation of our school and community,” Boatman said. “The Class of 2017 was challenged on the first day of freshman year to pick up the torch of greatness associated with Cyclone Nation, and they have not disappointed. These students are truly leaving us better for having had the opportunity to be part of their collective story.”
According to information provided by the school system, EHS’ senior class participated in over 400 athletic contests and performed or competed in over 50 concerts, competitions or performances.
“They have earned multiple state championships. Academically, their hard work has merited over $2 million in scholarships to date,” Boatman said. “This equates to literally thousands upon thousands of hours of preparation.”
EHS was able to bring in a bevy of highlights this season. EHS was one of the Bartley Project 13 national winners, earning $200,000 and individual scholarships and for performances, EHS Betsy Band earned a state championship — marking the second for the senior class — while the Women’s Ensemble placed third in the state among women’s choirs.
Members of the EHS Top Ten percent include: Jacob Barb, Taylor Bowers, Haley Burleson, Cody Dugger, Kimberly Henson, Curtly Holdren, Mackenzie Lyons, Joshua Nave, Randall Timbs, Sydney Wright, Heather Feuchtenberger, Eliana Rangel, Alexa McAdams, Katherine Moye, Allison Riddle, Cameron VanDeKrol, Amy Hyder, Micah Thomasson, Logan Guy and Amber King.
Nave was also presented with the Medal of Honor, presented by Director of Schools Dr. Corey Gardenhour. The award is the highest token of achievement at EHS and is earned by faculty vote for outstanding contributions to the school environment.
Other highlights from this year at EHS include:
• Cody Dugger, John Tapp and Dylan Fritts placed third in state in respective CTE departments and categories
• Jesse Carr and Mason Yates received state FFA Degrees
• Sydney Wright one of 264 nationwide to earn Achievement Award in Writing from the National Council of Teachers of English
• Andrea Hyder named to All-State Chorus
• Solar Go Kart Team (STEM and Auto students) placed first in Endurance at the first race of its kind in the state at Bristol Motor Speedway

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox