Election Commission sets ballot for May 1 Primary

Published 3:56 pm Monday, February 26, 2018

Members of the Carter County Election Commission set the ballot for the upcoming County Primary Election, discussed budget requests for next fiscal year, and assigned poll workers during their meeting Monday morning.

Carter County will hold Republican and Democratic Primary elections for county offices on May 1. The deadline for candidates to qualify to appear on the ballot was Feb. 15 and the deadline to withdraw from consideration was Feb. 22. With both deadlines now passed, members of the Election Commission voted to set the ballots.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

No candidates filed to run in the Carter County Democratic Party Primary. Because the Party called for a Primary election, a ballot will be provided to those wishing to vote as a Democrat. However, no candidates will appear on the ballot. Under each office appearing on the ballot will be the statement “No Candidate Filed.”

Several candidates qualified to take part in the Carter County Republican Primary election.

While many of the offices have multiple candidates seeking the position, one race has a shortage of candidates, according to Carter County Administrator of Elections Tracy Harris.

“There is one opening for constable in the 8th District,” Harris said, adding each of the county’s eight districts elects two constables. “One qualified as a candidate and so far we have one write-in candidate.”

The candidate who completed paperwork to be a certified write-in candidate is David Campbell.

“He’s a constable there now,” Harris said. “He has qualified as a certified write-in candidate.”

Election Commissioner Ramon Sanchez-Vinas made a motion to approve and set the ballot. The motion received a second from Election Commissioner Junior Stanley and passed unanimously on a vote.

In budget talks, Harris informed the Election Commission that she is requesting an increase in funds from the county during the upcoming budget cycle.

“We’re asking for an increase of $61,000 because we have two elections this budget cycle,” Harris explained. “The average cost of an election is $62,000.” The elections which will happen during the Fiscal Year 2018-19 budget cycle are the County General Election in August and the Municipal, State, and Federal General Elections in November.

Members of the Election Commission also appointed poll workers to work in the various precincts on the May 1 Election Day as well as a list of those to work during the early voting period from April 11 through April 26.

Below is a list of the candidates and offices that will appear on the Republican Primary Ballot during the May 1 election. Candidates who qualified to run as Independents will appear on the August General Election ballot along with the winners in the Republican Primary races.

County Mayor:

Rusty Barnett

Leon Humphrey

Larry Shell

Danny Ray Ward

County Trustee:

Randal K. Lewis


Rocky Croy

Dexter Lunceford

Circuit Court Clerk:

Johnny “JB” Blankenship

County Clerk:

Mary R. Gouge

Patsy H. Lewis

Bruce A. Pierce

Register of Deeds:

Jarrod “J” Ellis

Jessica Barnett Markland

Adam Townsend

Road Superintendent:

Roger Colbaugh

County Commission:

(3 per District)

1st District:

Robert V. Acuff

Mark Blevins

Willie Campbell

Steve Stenstream

2nd District:

Nancy J. Brown

Derrick Guinn

Mike Hill

Al Meehan

Patty Woodby

3rd District:

Phillip Brumit

Bradley N. Johnson

Ronnie Trivett

4th District:

Isaiah Grindstaff

Austin Jaynes

Jerry L. Proffitt

Michael R. Roberts Jr.

5th District:

Ross Garland

Ginger Holdren

Layla Ward

6th District:

Gary W. Bailey

Donnie C. Cable

Travis Hill

Randall Jenkins

7th District:

Aaron Frazier

8th District:

Myles Cook

Robin McKamey

Cody McQueen

Rick Q. Richardson


(2 per District)

1st District:

Gary W. Perry

Larry P. Perry

Ronald E. Reed

2nd District:

Paul Birchfield

Barney Brown

Julie Guinn

Leonard Johnson

Brian L. Keener

Dewayne Sabisch

John Thompson

3rd District:

Scotty Hall

Jerry L. Miller

Scott C. Whaley

4th District:

Jason Jones

Roger Allen Lunceford

Bryan Russell

Harvey Shaffer

5th District:

Mark I. Carrier

Larry M. Presnell, Jr.

6th District:

John C. Henson

Bobby D. Trivette

7th District:

Seth Babb

Kenneth R. Potter

8th District:

Dave Ryan