Nominees sought for 2018 Educators Hall of Fame

Published 10:38 am Friday, March 9, 2018

A local organization is seeking to honor educators who have made a difference in the lives of local students.

The Carter County Imagination Library Board is asking the public to send in nominations for this year’s class of inductees to the Carter County/Elizabethton Educators Hall of Fame.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

This year will mark the 12th edition of the Educators Hall of Fame, which was established to honor outstanding educators and “their immeasurable and lasting contributions to both their students and the community,” according to information from the Carter County Imagination Library Board.

A special committee selects the inductees, and each year four educators join the ranks of the Hall of Fame. The committee chooses one living retired educator and one deceased educator each from the Carter County School System and Elizabethton City Schools.

The inductees are honored each year during a special Hall of Fame celebration. According to Carter County Imagination Library Board member Lilo Duncan, the Hall of Fame dinner serves as a fundraiser for the local Imagination Library, which provides free books to children.

According to Duncan, the public is invited to participate in the selection process by nominating teachers or educators who have touched their lives in a special way and given the utmost to their profession.

To nominate an educator, all a person has to do is fill out the nomination form and then return it to the Elizabethton/Carter County Public Library or mail it to Lilo Duncan at 190 Mayfield Drive, Elizabethton, TN 37643.

Educators can only be inducted into the Hall of Fame once. Nominations must be received by March 31, 2018.

This year, the Hall of Fame celebration dinner will take place on April 28 at 6 p.m., at the Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) Elizabethton. Tickets to attend the celebration are $20, which includes a catered meal.

Listed below are the current members of the Carter County/Elizabethton Educators Hall of Fame:


County: John Fine, Cheri Miller

City: Nell Curtis, Martha Laws


County: David Buck, Joe Taylor

City: Wanda Bass, Judy Little


County: Tommy Jenkins, Richard Winters

City: Harold Ellis, Ronald Taylor


no inductees listed by the Carter County Imagination Library


County: Kate Ensor, John Hardin

City: Frank Baker, Willie Church


County: Janice Willette Ericson, Zola Shankle

City: Mary Emma Brown, Anna Kinch


County: James G. “Buddy” Jones, Mary Rasar

City: Gertrude Bishop, Fannie Stover


County: Margaret Jones, Glen Tester

City: Bill Armstrong, Harry Fine


County: Cathy Ogg, Jack Pearman

City: Sam Greenwell, Thomas J. Harville


County: Margaret Broome, Glenda Ranshaw

City: Jobelle Hood, Melville Kelly


County: Newland Hyder, Edna Potter

City: Reuben Pierce, Bertie Summerlin


County: Helen Finney, James Potter

City: Charles Lipford, Donna Netherland

For more information on the Carter County-Elizabethton Educators Hall of Fame, contact Lilo Duncan at 423-542-5690.