Early voting numbers down from 2014, officials prep for May 1

Published 5:00 pm Friday, April 27, 2018

While early voting for the County Primary Election finished out with strong numbers for the last two days, overall turnout was slightly down from 2014.

“We broke over 44 those last two days,” said Carter County Administrator of Elections Tracy Harris.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Wednesday saw 454 early votes cast, while Thursday finished out with 489 voters.

All together, 4,153 residents took advantage of early voting, according to Harris. That number also includes any absentee ballots which have been received by the Election Commission.

“We’re just a little short from the last County Primary,” Harris said.

Early voting for the 2014 County Primary saw a turnout of 4,240, which is just 87 higher than this year’s early voting total.

Once early voting ended, the tally cards for the machines were sealed in a locked box by two members of the Carter County Election Commission — one from each of the Carter County Republican and Democrat Parties. Those secured boxes will be opened on Election Day at 8 p.m. after the polls closed and those votes will then be calculated, Harris said.

Absentee ballots will also be held secure until Election Day and tallied at 8 p.m. after the polls close.

Based on the numbers from early voting, Harris said she is expecting to see an average turnout at the polls for Election Day on Tuesday.

During the 2014 County Primary, 9,904 of the county’s 32,074 registered voters cast ballots in the election, for a voter turnout rate of about 42 percent according to Harris.

This year, there are 32,849 eligible voters in Carter County, and Harris said she estimates voter turnout will probably be around 40 percent again.

The Election Commission office will close at noon on Monday, April 30, to allow Election Staff to assist Precinct Officers in getting set up for Election Day. The office will reopen at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, May 1.

There are no changes to the polling locations this year, Harris said.

On Tuesday, May 1, the polls will be open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. Anyone already in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote, Harris said.

Below is a list of the candidates and offices that will appear on the Republican Primary Ballot during the May 1 election. No candidates qualified to appear on the Democratic Primary Ballot for the May 1 election. Candidates who qualified to run as Independents will appear on the August General Election ballot along with the winners in the Republican Primary races.

County Mayor:

Rusty Barnett

Leon Humphrey

Larry Shell

Danny Ray Ward

County Trustee:

Randal K. Lewis


Rocky Croy

Dexter Lunceford

Circuit Court Clerk:

Johnny “JB” Blankenship

County Clerk:

Mary R. Gouge

Patsy H. Lewis

Bruce A. Pierce

Register of Deeds:

Jarrod “J” Ellis

Jessica Barnett Markland

Adam Townsend

Road Superintendent:

Roger Colbaugh

County Commission:

(3 per District)

1st District:

Robert V. Acuff

Mark Blevins

Willie Campbell

Steve Stenstream

2nd District:

Nancy J. Brown

Derrick Guinn

Mike Hill

Al Meehan

Patty Woodby

3rd District:

Phillip Brumit

Bradley N. Johnson

Ronnie Trivett

4th District:

Isaiah Grindstaff

Austin Jaynes

Jerry L. Proffitt

Michael R. Roberts Jr.

5th District:

Ross Garland

Ginger Holdren

Layla Ward

6th District:

Gary W. Bailey

Donnie C. Cable

Travis Hill

Randall Jenkins

7th District:

Aaron Frazier

8th District:

Myles Cook

Robin McKamey

Cody McQueen

Rick Q. Richardson


(2 per District)

1st District:

Gary W. Perry

Larry P. Perry

Ronald E. Reed

2nd District:

Paul Birchfield

Barney Brown

Julie Guinn

Leonard Johnson

Brian L. Keener

Dewayne Sabisch

John Thompson

3rd District:

Scotty Hall

Jerry L. Miller

Scott C. Whaley

4th District:

Jason Jones

Roger Allen Lunceford

Bryan Russell

Harvey Shaffer

5th District:

Mark I. Carrier

Larry M. Presnell, Jr.

6th District:

John C. Henson

Bobby D. Trivette

7th District:

Seth Babb

Kenneth R. Potter

8th District:

Dave Ryan

There is one certified write-in candidate for the May 1 Primary — David Campbell who is seeking election as a Constable for the 8th District.