Happy Valley High School Hall of Fame to enshrine its largest class

Published 8:28 am Friday, April 12, 2019

Happy Valley High School Hall of Fame will enshrine its largest class on Saturday, April 13, at Happy Valley High School’s Bayless Gymnasium.

Three of their Mount Rushmore basketball teams are on the induction list.

The teams to be inducted are:

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

1. 1941 State runner-up, coached by legendary coach John Treadway and led by legendary coach Charles Bayless to become the first team from our region to play for a state championship.

2. 1950 team that went 36-0, again coached by Treadway to become the first team from Northeast Tennessee to win the state championship.

3. 1974 team that won the small state championship.

Individual inductees are long-time coach Charles Bayless, assistant coach Dickie Renfro, and former football standouts, Scotty Verran, current head coach at South Greene, and Tony Garland.

Basketball and baseball standouts to be inducted will be Russell Kyte, Ray Birchfield, Garth McKinney and Chuck Babb, also a former head coach at Happy Valley. Track standouts to be inducted are Larry Brown, Andy Curde, Jeff Vance and David Hughes Jr. Girls basketball and track, Kattie Williams Crowder, Kourtney Goulds Caldwell and Erica Babb Beach.

Coach Bobby Snyder, former great coach at Boones Creek High School and later Daniel Boone, will be honored as “Honored Enemy Warrior Chief.”

Previous winners of this award were Hampton’s Jerry White and Science Hill’s Elvin Little.

The doors will open at 6:45 p.m. for guests.

Inductees will meet in the cafeteria at 6 p.m. Come and have a wonderful evening with sports history.

There is no charge to attend.