Watauga Valley Conference releases postseason baseball award winners

Published 7:32 am Friday, May 24, 2019

With the recent completion of the 2019 baseball season, the Watauga Valley Conference released a list of their postseason awards.

The awards are based on conference statistics only. They are as follows:

Conference MVP-Braydon Wilhoit (Sullivan North).

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Wilhoit had a .448 batting average with a 4-1 record on the Mound where he had a 0.93 ERA with 37 strikeouts and only five walks.

Co-Conference Offensive Player of the Year-Bryson Street (Unaka) and Esau Byrd (University High).

Street had a .400 batting average with 12 RBI’s and five doubles. Byrd, meanwhile finished with a .394 batting average with 12 runs and 12 RBI’s.

Conference Defensive Player of the Year-Brant Hare (University High)

Conference Pitcher of the Year-Michael Degennaro (University High)

Degennaro finished with a 3-0 record with no earned runs, 16 strikeouts and three walks.

Watauga Valley Conference All Conference:

University High-Henry Borthwick, Kaleb Meredith, Briley Townsend, Carter Pollock.

Sullivan North-Tyler Depriest, Hunter Dingus, Cole Bear.

Unaka-Davy Ensor, John Ramsey.

North Greene-Cayden Foulks, Chance Campbell.

Hampton-Joshua Owens (.333, two doubles, 10 walks, 44 RBI’s, five strikeouts in conference play).

Cloudland-Dillon Johnson.