Just around the corner… Carter Hall of Fame to honor 1959-60 Hampton Bulldogs

Published 7:00 am Thursday, May 30, 2019


The Carter County Sports Hall of Fame will recognize Hampton High’s 1959-60 state championship basketball team during its next induction ceremony.

Beginning at 6 p.m., the event is scheduled for Saturday, June 22 at Elizabethton’s Tennessee Center of Applied Technology.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The new hall of fame class includes Ronnie Snavely, Rusty Chambers, Lisa Peters Mintz, Mike Lunsford, Julia “Julie” Shell Puckett, John Campbell II, Bethany Forslund Byrd, Mike Williams, Jimmy Jones, Charlotte Markland, Phil Worrell, Tony Hardin, Robert McFarland, Samantha McClay, Earl Sams, Dino Senesi Jr., Kim Collins Sandora, Leon Tolley and Harold Street.

Tickets are $20 through June 10, $25 afterward ($15/$20 for past inductees, personal presenters and children ages 13-&-under).

They are available for purchase through www.carterhalloffame.com or by contacting Charles Peters (470-9248, peters5@charter.net), Jamie Combs (895-8296, jamiecombs131@yahoo.com) or Steve Lowe (202-8416, stclowe1@hotmail.com).

In addition to the new class, 1959-60 Hampton team members will be admitted at no charge.

The Bulldogs will be the first team honored by the hall of fame, which plans to recognize other great Carter County teams in the future.