Carter County Sports Hall of Fame announces a new class

Published 6:00 am Monday, August 19, 2019

The induction list for the Carter County Sports Hall of Fame’s fall/winter banquet has been cemented.
A class of 17 people was selected earlier this week, among them TSSAA Hall of Fame official Ernest “Black Cat” Rasar and Northeast Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame sportswriter Henry Jenkins.
Rasar, the former Happy Valley High principal and Carter County Schools superintendent, and Jenkins will be inducted posthumously. 
Longtime TSSAA baseball umpire Rocky Davenport and Milligan College women’s basketball coach Rich Aubrey will also receive enshrinement.
Likewise for Eddie Pless (athlete), Sam Bradshaw (athlete), Rikki Baughman (basketball) and Sid Taylor (basketball) of Elizabethton; Unaka’s Mickey Taylor (baseball), Megan Heaton (softball) and Mike “Acey” Ensor (baseball); Hampton basketball’s Wayne Phillips, Wes Forbes and Shirlene Campbell; Cloudland basketball representatives Doug Blevins and Rik Anderson; and former Happy Valley football/track & field standout Terry Williams.
In addition to Aubrey, Milligan has representation in Baughman and Heaton. Anderson also represents Happy Valley Middle School.
Furthermore, Happy Valley High’s 1973-74 Class S state championship basketball team will receive special recognition at the banquet — which is generally held in November.
An exact date will soon be announced.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox