Mullins named chair of Department of Social Work

Published 8:37 am Monday, October 28, 2019

JOHNSON CITY – East Tennessee State University’s College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences (CCRHS) recently announced the appointment of Dr. Mary H. Mullins as chair of the Department of Social Work.

Mullins has taught at ETSU since 2011 and has served in various leadership roles including Master of Social Work program director and Bachelor of Social Work program director. She currently serves as a faculty facilitator for ETSU’s interprofessional initiative.

Mullins has served as interim chair of the department since May 2019.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“The Department of Social Work continues to expand its programs to meet the needs in our community and in surrounding communities, and I am pleased to have a visionary leader like Dr. Mullins at the helm of this growing department,” said Dr. Don Samples, CCRHS dean.

Mullins earned her Bachelor of Science degree in psychology from University of Virginia’s College at Wise, a Master of Social Work from Radford University and her Ph.D. in social work from Norfolk State University.

Before joining ETSU’s faculty, she taught at Virginia Intermont College. Her professional experience includes work as a medical social worker and case manager. A native of Welch, West Virginia, Mullins has resided in Southwest Virginia for most of her life. She currently serves on the Johnson City Housing Authority’s Homes for Youth Advisory Board.

“I am honored to serve in this role,” said Mullins. “I look forward to strengthening existing relationships and establishing new collaborative efforts across the region.”

To learn more about the Department of Social Work, visit