Cronin to appear in upcoming ETSU play ‘You Can’t Take It With You’

Published 8:36 am Monday, November 18, 2019

One of America’s most beloved comedy classics, “You Can’t Take It with You,” will be presented by East Tennessee State University’s Department of Theatre and Dance Nov. 21-24. Veteran actor Patrick Cronin, who is retiring from ETSU in December, will return to the stage to reprise his role as Martin “Grandpa” Vanderhof.

Performances will be held Thursday-Saturday, Nov. 21-23, at 7:30 p.m., and Sunday, Nov. 24, at 2 p.m. in the Bud Frank Theatre.

“You Can’t Take It with You” introduces the eccentric Sycamore family, a quirky group of people who, with great pride, march to the beat of their own drum. And they are certainly unlike the rather unhappy Kirby family.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Of course, opposites attract, and young Alice Sycamore falls in love with Tony Kirby. Alice decides to bring Tony and his snooty parents home for dinner to meet the rest of the Sycamore family, which includes her fledgling ballerina sister Essie, and her father Paul, who is a fireworks enthusiast, and her philosophical grandfather.

To no surprise, the evening is far from flawless.

“You Can’t Take It with You” is written by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman, whose granddaughter, the late actress Beatrice Colen, was married to Cronin and they had two children, both ETSU graduates.

Joining Cronin as members of the cast are Kailey Kyle, Abigail Arnett, Hannah Smith, Bryan Lumb, Luke Tompson, Gabriel Felty, Davis Hickson, Gracie Fulghum, Alex Hennage, Hunter Thomas, Luke Walker, Sarah Louise Hill, Justin Rayna, Madison Grace Phillips, Trynity Binkley, Katye Beard, Billie Williams and Callie Dowd.

ETSU faculty member Bobby Funk is directing the show, along with Kate Patton as stage manager. The creative team includes Jonathon Taylor, scenic designer; Jessica Richardson, costume designer; Levi Bradford, lighting designer; Melissa Shafer, sound designer; Zach Olsen, technical director; and Braylee Polson, hair and makeup designer.

Other creative team members are Kallie Jenkins and Caleb Harrison, assistant stage managers; Gray Crum, Claire Johnston and Emily Austin, production assistants; Dylan Weston, assistant scenic designer; Lizzie Nyhan, audio technician; Brenden Dykes, electrics technician; Imani Green, wardrobe supervisor; Jessica Potter, hair and makeup assistant; and Shawn Dunbar, Abby Dovey, Clara Roller, Sarah Hill and Aubrey Toncray, wardrobe assistants.

Cronin joined the ETSU faculty in 1999 and is a member of SAG-AFTRA and AEA (Actor’s Equity). He has appeared in over 200 television shows and films including starring roles in “Seinfeld,” “Star Trek: The Next Generation,” “Hill Street Blues” and “Home Improvement,” and he received Emmy nominations for “The Wonder Years” and “Lucy and Desi: Before the Laughter.”

Tickets are $5 for faculty, staff and students (with ID) and $10 general admission. To purchase tickets, learn more information or to request special accommodations for persons with disabilities, contact the Theatre and Dance Box Office at 423-439-6511 or