State champion Cyclones place four on All-State team

Published 12:48 am Wednesday, January 8, 2020

The Elizabethton Cyclones opened eyes throughout the state on their march to the 2019 Blue Cross Class 4-A Bowl championship and the rewards of their hard work kept coming with the release of the 2019 Class 4A Tennessee High School Football Coaches Association (TNFCA) All-State Team.
Elizabethton had four players named to the team which was released Tuesday.
On offense, sophomore quarterback Bryson Rollins who took over the signal calling duties after week one was selected to the team.
Rollins grew leaps and bounds throughout the season under the mentorship of head coach Shawn Witten on the way to helping the Cyclones to a perfect 15-0 season through the air and on the ground with his running ability.
Rollins had well over 3,000 yards of total offense for the season to go along with 46 total touchdowns.
The second player named offensively was Cade Maupin, the Dobyns-Bennett transfer who helped to solidify the run game for the Cyclones as a running back who gained over 1,500 yards on the ground and 13 touchdowns in 2019.
Maupin also stepped in at quarterback when needed to spell Rollins but Cyclone fans will remember Maupin for his bullish running and breakaway speed along with his one-handed interception that propelled the Cyclones over Science Hill in the season’s first game.
Maupin was also selected as WJHL’s fan favorite for 2019.
Wide receiver Parker Hughes was the third offensive player named to the offensive All-State team. The junior wide receiver spent the offseason in the weight room and when he emerged on the field it was hard not to notice his presence when the Cyclones took the field.
Hughes accounted for over 1,000 yards of receiving during the 2019 season despite missing three games due to injury.
Anyone playing against Hughes knew if there was a 50-50 ball in his reach that Hughes more than likely was going to come away with it.
On the defensive side of the football, junior Deuce Morton was selected to the team for his play at linebacker. Morton had a motor that just wouldn’t stop and it didn’t matter where the ball was at, one could count on Morton being close by.
The linebacker accounted for over 125 tackles on the season.
Offensive coordinators had to account for Morton on every play but that was virtually impossible as the defensive beast used his beefed-up physique from time in the weight room and his speed to demonize the opposing offense.

The 2019 Class 4A  Tennessee High School Football Coaches Association (TnFCA) All-State Team 


QB- Tommy Clifton, Millington

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

QB- Ryder Galardi, Nolensville

QB- Will McDonald, Livingston Academy

QB- Bryson Rollins, Elizabethton

RB- Parker Deaton, White House Heritage

RB- Cade Maupin, Elizabethton

RB- Julian Reed, Sullivan South

RB- Danny Stansberry, Creek Wood

OL- Isaac Cross, DeKalb County

OL- Chris Everhart, Greeneville

OL- Cam Necessary, Sullivan South

OL- Ian Poe, Tullahoma

OL- Cole Spears, Livingston Academy

WR- Tim Coutras, Nolensville

WR- Parker Hughes, Elizabethton

WR- Wesley Smith, Livingston Academy

WR- Hudson Wolfe, Hardin County

ATH- Markeston Douglass, Haywood

ATH- Dawson Holt, Grainger

ATH- Kevontez Hudson, Springfield

ATH- Luke Pratt, Crockett County

K- Jon Estes, Marshall County


DL- Jaheim Boyd, Fayette Ware

DL- Stone Cummings, Anderson County

DL- Dan Rickert, Nolensville

DL- Landon Whittemore, Macon County

LB- Jalen Boykin, East Ridge

LB- Deuce Morton, Elizabethton

LB- Mikie Neal, Springfield

LB- Ty Youngblood, Greeneville

DB- Quintin Howard, Tullahoma

DB- Eric Johnson, Howard

DB- Gabe Kelly, Springfield

DB- Jordan Smith, Lexington

ATH- Julius Jackson, Jackson North Side

ATH- Corterrion Moore, Ripley

ATH- Josh Owens, Crockett County

ATH- Marquis Pugh, Haywood

P- Alen Karajic, East Hamilton