Getting the pin… Elizabethton’s Morton, Thomas collect TSWA All-State wrestling honors

Published 2:39 pm Thursday, April 23, 2020

The Elizabethton Cyclone wrestling program continues to get stronger year after year and the main reason for that is the consistency of two of the program’s dominant wrestlers for the last three years in Jonathan “Deuce” Morton and Tyesha Thomas.
Morton picked up his second consecutive state title this past season in the 195-pound weight class in Class A-AA while Thomas collected a runner-up finish in the 119-pound girl’s weight class in the 2020 state tournament held in Williamson County.
The two wrestlers were rewarded for their efforts as the Tennessee Sports Writers Association recognized them as All-State performers in their respective weight classes.
Morton was simply a beast on the mat all season for the Cyclones as he won a total of 50 matches while suffering only two defeats. The two defeats came to wrestlers in a higher classification from private schools.
Many of Morton’s matches didn’t proceed past the first two-minute round as Morton has become a strategist at evaluating his opponents and taking care of business quickly.
“Deuce had an exemplary season,” said Cyclone head coach Eddie Morrell. “The kid worked hard every day and developed into a role model and leader for the rest of our team.
“I haven’t seen a dominant run as Deuce had in quite some time. We are going to fine-tune our athletic points heading into next season and work on him being on the mat for six full minutes and take some pressure off him thinking he has to get it done in the first two minutes.”
Thomas continues to impress her coach with the way she has consistently performed and looks for the physical grappler to accomplish something in her senior year that he hasn’t seen on the girl’s side of competition.
“Tyesha had a really great season,” Morrell said. “She had one loss at a tournament in Nashville and the other came in the state final and won 29 matches overall.
“I couldn’t ask for a better work ethic or consistency. We are going to really focus on the mental aspects of her matches in the upcoming season and just continuing to stay consistent.
“Physically, she has all the traits to wrestle at the college level while mentally she continues to grow as a wrestler,” Morrell continued. “She may win 100 matches before the end of her career and I never thought I would see the day a girl could get 100 matches.
“I couldn’t ask for more out of either Deuce or Tyesha. I know the TSWA doesn’t take it lightly when naming All-State performers.”
The two seniors look to help lead their team to another strong finish in the final year on the mats in 2021.
A complete list of wrestlers who made the TSWA Class A-AA and Class AAA are listed below with Northeast Tennessee performers highlighted.


Avery Kibelbek, David Crockett, So.
Elizabeth Raper, Cookeville, So.
Ella-lina Gonzalez, West Creek, Fr.
Anna Fisher, Alcoa, Jr.

Kerra Strevel, Heritage, Jr.
Verena Pate, St. Andrew’s-Sewanee, Fr.
Savanah Barefield, Rossview, Sr.
Jesmarie Negron, Forrest, Sr.

Annalynn Rakett, Clarksville Academy, So.
Tyesha Thomas, Elizabethton, Jr.
Divine Desilets, Tullahoma, Jr.
Emma Wallen, Science Hill, Jr.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Robbin Yunis, Rossview, Sr.
Taylor Howell, Clarksville, Sr.
Morgan Sacharczyk, Blackman, Fr.
Kaylee Hayes, Gibbs, Sr.

Emma Walker, Rossview, Sr.
Rontaysia Payne, Dickson County, Jr.
Lilly Pendleton, Cheatham County, Sr.
Jaelyn Patton, Stone Memorial, Fr.

Saqara Buchanan, Rossview, Sr.
Genesis Gilmore, Montgomery Central, Fr.
Leann Worley, Jefferson County, Jr.
Iliana Pate, St. Andrew’s-Sewanee, So.

Vivian Hurn, Montgomery Central, Sr.
Elizabeth Champion, Tullahoma, Jr.
Brette Spink, Clarksville Northwest, So.
Nena Brown, Blackman, So.

Maggie Graham, Bartlett, Fr.
Brielle Bissonette, Rossview, Jr.
Taylor Rickley, Northwest, Sr.
Brianna Thompson, Heritage, So.

Shelby Zacharias, Creek Wood, Jr.
Rose Gailan, Nashville Overton, Sr.
Mazzy Wilson, Stone Memorial, So.
Lilly Chantler of Clarksville Northwest, Fr.

Ariyanna Anderson, Creek Wood, So.
Jamya Brewer, Rossview, Jr.
Kaevon Burney, Clarksville, Sr.
Korrine Abston, Stone Memorial, Jr.

Valerie Smith, McGavock Comprehensive, So.
Jayla Washington, Cordova, Sr.
Taylor Davis, Heritage, Sr.
Trinaty Robinson, Columbia Central, Jr.


Class A-AA
Caleb Uhorchuk, Signal Mountain, Fr.
Cole Dorsett, Nolensville, Fr.
Marcus Smith, Gibbs, Fr.
Hunter Gentry, Pigeon Forge, So.
LeAndre Dabney Jr., Greeneville, So.
Gregory Gomez, Martin Luther King, Fr.
Andy Cable, Pigeon Forge, Fr.
Seth McCoy, Forrest, 8th grade
Daniel Uhorchuk, Signal Mountain, Jr.
Trevor Lewis, Hixson, Jr.
Caleb Gumlick, Pigeon Forge, Fr.
Logan Heckert, Sycamore, Fr.
Hunter Mason, Greeneville, Fr.
Riley Lippincott, Nolensville, Jr.
Cole McCartney, Greenbrier, Sr.
Noah Dyer, Pigeon Forge, So.
Josh Parton, Pigeon Forge, So.
Dalen Kimble, Sycamore, So.
Hunter Johnson, Greeneville, Jr.
Jeremiah Shackleford, Hixson, Sr.
Garrett Foreman, Pigeon Forge, So.
Riley Bennett, Fairview, Jr.
Jacob Vogelpohl, Nolensville, Sr.
Christian Moore, Gibbs, Sr.
Kodiak Cannedy, Greeneville, So.
Kevin Muschel, Signal Mountain, Jr.
Malachi Bennett, Fairview, Fr.
Alex Overbay, Sullivan South, Jr.
Colby Dalon, Pigeon Forge, So.
Ryan Wimbley, Alcoa, Sr.
Gavin Channell, Nolensville, Sr.
Ken Curtis, Fairview, Fr.
Wyatt McLemore, Eagleville, Jr.
Preston Worley, Signal Mountain, Jr.
Antonio Washington, Bolton, Sr.
Anthony Jones, Alcoa, Sr.
Nick McClendon, Forrest, Sr.
Matthew Trotter, Creek Wood, Sr.
Caden Cline, Red Bank, Sr.
William Carter, Alcoa, Sr.
Noah Hill, Forrest, Jr.
Joseph Skidmore, Pigeon Forge, Jr.
Jason Dennis, Eagleville, Jr.
Cody DeLano, Fairview, Sr.
Jonathan Morton, Elizabethton, Jr.
Caleb Wolfe, Pigeon Forge, Fr.
Kambell Brown, Alcoa, Sr.
McKinley Wagner, Nolensville, Sr.
Parrish Pacetti, Hixson, Jr.
Elliott Grinder, Hume-Fogg, Sr.
Ethan Sutton, Pigeon Forge, Jr.
Cameron Hensley, Greeneville, Sr.
Lance Williams, Alcoa, Fr.
Garrison Albino, Gibbs, Sr.
Devotis McCurdy, Hixson, Sr.
James Headrick, Whitwell, Sr.
Bentley Ellison, Cleveland, Fr.
Ethan Wilson, Bradley Central, Sr.
Keegan Schulz, Munford, Sr.
Nicholas Mercante, Wilson Central, Fr.
Thomas Borders, Wilson Central, Jr.
Justin Bradford, Blackman, So.
Arlo Laxton, Cleveland, So.
Chris Calvin, McGavock Comprehensive, Jr.
Trey Bates, Beech, Jr.
Jackson Bradford, Cleveland, Jr.
Andrew Artiles, Collierville, Sr.
Grant Fetters, Wilson Central, Sr.
Trae McDaniel, Cleveland, Jr.
Brennan Watkins, Dobyns Bennett, Jr.
Samuel Shires, Rossview, So.
Mason Sells, Blackman, Fr.
Tyler Seeley, Science Hill, Sr.
Ethan Moore, Rossview, Sr.
Gavin Hughes, Bradley Central, Sr.
Franky Medina, Riverdale, Sr.
Christian Isbell, Clarksville, Sr.
Alan Fort, Wilson Central, Jr.
Braxton Mann, Science Hill, Jr.
Landon Fisher, Jefferson County, Jr.
Jackson Hurst, Dobyns Bennett, Jr.
Thomas Williams, Rossview, Sr.
Alex Ables, Centennial, Jr.
Dylan Cockman, Arlington, So.
Mason Smith, Beech, Jr.
Levi Stone, Wilson Central, Sr.
Robert Laxton, Cleveland, Jr.
Derrick Bannister, Kenwood, Sr.
Tre Morrisette, Dobyns Bennett, Jr.
Dejon Glaster, Oakland, Sr.
Jared Harter, Science Hill, Sr.
Nate Schilling, Cleveland, Sr.
Gabriel Smith, Clarksville, Sr.
Josh Pietarila, Hardin Valley, Sr.
Anthony Gomez, Blackman, Sr.
Zach Brezna, Cleveland, Sr.

Brooks Sacharczyk, Blackman, Sr.
Hayden Maynor, Soddy Daisy, Sr.
Cooper Richards, Springfield, Sr.
Tyrone McDonald, Bradley Central, Sr.
Johnny Mac Feldhacker, Brentwood, Sr.
Jason Brumlow, East Hamilton, Jr.
Joshua Cummins, Anderson County, Jr.
Kallum Lowe, Walker Valley, Jr.
Ashton Davis, Cleveland, So.
Brandon Elkins, Knox Halls, Sr.
Bowdy Boyce, Blackman, Sr.
Ryver Shelton of Jefferson County, Jr.
Skylar Coffey, Brentwood, Sr.
Jadon Langford, Walker Valley, Jr.
Jared Dawson, Collierville, Sr.
Gabrille Fletcher, McGavock Comprehensive, Sr.