Recognizing the standouts… T.A. Dugger Jr. High recognizes student-athletes for 2019-2020

Published 3:42 pm Monday, May 11, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
With another school year coming to an end even by an unorthodox way, T.A. Dugger Jr. High School named their standout sports performers for the 2019-2020 school year on Monday. 
Topping the list was the naming of Mr. and Miss Cyclone as Luke Whaley was chosen as Mr. Cyclone and Bailee VanHuss was tabbed as Miss Cyclone. 
Whaley was a member of the Jr. Cyclone football and Jr. Cyclone basketball team while VanHuss was a standout for the Jr. Lady Cyclone volleyball and softball teams. 
The school recognized their eighth-grade cheerleaders for the year. Madison Holly, Rebekah Hardin, Peyton Lacy, Rheagan Haynes, Kyleigh Elliott, Kennadee Williams, Mallory Grindstaff, and Tori Frakes represented the school with excellence.
Riley Vernon was selected as the Cross Country Outstanding Male with Lindy Simerly collecting the Cross Country Outstanding Female Award.
Football recognized four players for the 2019 season as the Offensive Lineman of the Year award was presented to Joshua Hayes with the Defensive Lineman of the Year player was Matthew Kent.
The Skill Player of the Year was Jeriah Griffen while Gib Maupin and Zeth Mullins were awarded the All in Award.
In girl’s volleyball, Krisalyn Elliott was tabbed as the Offensive MVP while VanHuss received the Defensive MVP award.
On the pitch, Emma O’Quinn was named the Girl’s Soccer MVP with Abbie Crigger collected the Girls’ Soccer Cyclone award. The Boys’ Soccer Captain was Tylar Jenkins.
Basketball saw Will Churchill capture the Boys’ Basketball MVP while Michelle Shields earned the Girls’ MVP award. The Basketball Cyclone awards went to Whaley for the boys and Marlee Mathena for the girls’ team.
Mollie Johnson also was awarded the Girls’ Basketball All-in Award.
On the mat, the Wrestling MVP went to Gavin Kodak while Caleb Campbell was selected as the Wrestling Captain.
In the pool, Jessie Frickel collected the Swim Female of the Year award while the Swim Male of the Year honors was given to Liam Cannon.
Back outdoors, the golf team awarded Ashlynn Guy as the Golf Female of the Year while Dalton Sharp was named Golf Male of the Year.
Track selected Lindy Simerly and Riley Vernon as their Track Captains for 2020.
In baseball, Andrew Blevins has presented the Baseball Leadership award with Zeth Mullins was awarded the Baseball Commitment award.
Finally, in softball, Mollie Johnson was selected as the Softball MVP while Emma O’Quinn was given the Softball Coaches Award.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox