Northeast Community Credit Union selects 2020 William L. Armstrong Scholarship recipients

Published 4:11 pm Thursday, May 14, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Northeast Community Credit Union awards the William L. Armstrong Scholarship annually to qualifying credit union members who are graduating from high school and will be attending college.
The scholarship was originally established to honor William L. Armstrong, one of the founding members of Northeast Community Credit Union who continues to serve on the Board of Directors. To qualify for the scholarship, students must be enrolled at local high schools approved by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, have a minimum 3.0 grade point average and plan to enter college for the following fall semester. As part of the selection process, students are required to submit a 500-word, typed essay on how one person can make a difference in the world.
This year the scholarships were awarded to Stevie Barnett of Cloudland High School; Brilee Culbert of Elizabethton High School; Ashley Woodby of Hampton High School; Claire Johnson of Happy Valley High School; and Sara Grubb of Unaka High School.
Students are recommended by teachers and leaders in the community. They have exemplified good citizenship in the classrooms and are active in volunteer work in the local community.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox