• 84°

3 Tennessee students named Presidential Scholars

MEMPHIS (AP) — Education officials say three high school seniors from Tennessee have been named to this year’s class of U.S. Presidential Scholars.
The U.S. Department of Education said in a news release Thursday that the students are among the 161 high school seniors recognized for accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields.
The students are Benjamin Charles Perry of Merrol Hyde Magnet School in Hendersonville; Sydney Hummel of Nolensville High School in Nolensville; and Maggie A. Wilkinson of Chattanooga High Center for Creative Arts in Ooltewah.
Presidential scholar selections are based on academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, evidence of community service and leadership.