An early birthday present… Taylor earns title in Bill Greene Jr. ETA by one stroke

Published 1:51 pm Monday, June 29, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
On Sunday’s final day of the 26th Bill Greene Jr. East Tennessee Amateur sponsored by Carter County Bank, golfers were not only competing for the title but trying to defeat pesky rain showers that delayed the final day of action on a couple of occasions.
When the showers gave way long enough, Gate City, VA native Chance Taylor had withstood a strong run for the front by holding off Clint Lowe, Ryan Terry, and two-time consecutive champion Tyler Lane who was looking to become the first player to win three straight titles.
Consistency was the name of the game for Taylor as the title came as an early birthday present who celebrated his big day on Monday, one day after taking the win.
Taylor shot rounds of 70, 70, and 70 over the three-day tournament to win with a six-under, 210 for the tournament on the Par 72 Elizabethton Golf Course.
Lowe, also a Gate City native, led the last group onto the course to kick the round off on Sunday with a two-stroke lead but over the course of the day ran into some difficult to finish with a one-over-par 73 to finish in a three-way tie for second place.
Terry was also another contender when the day started bringing a three-under-par to the first tee and had a solid two-under-par day on the third day coming up just one stroke shy of a tie with Taylor.
Lane put on the most impressive run of the day as the defending champion started off at even-par and strung together five birdies on the day to just narrowly miss the opportunity to take another win on the course. Lane finished the three-day tourney with a five-under, 211.
In Seniors play (50-64), Rick Mays collected the hardware finishing the tournament with a seven-under-par, 209 for the three days of action. Mays finished off the tournament with a 69.
Cary Daniels finished in second place in the division by finishing with a four-under-par, 212 while Bryan Rodgers collected third place by firing a 217, one-over-par.
In 65-over play, Mike Mills fired a three-day total of 220, four-over-par just ahead of Bob Ross who ended the tournament with a 228, 12-over-par.
Pat Kenney claimed the third spot by recording a 19-over-par, 235 for the three days of action.
Final standings, including match play, are as follows:
William B. Greene
East Tennessee Amateur
Sunday’s final results 
Par 72
Chance Taylor 70-70-70—210
Clint Lowe 69-69-73—211
Ryan Terry 69-72-70—211
Tyler Lane 69-75-67—211
Lawrence Largent 71-72-70—213
Gibson Miller 71-73-69—213
Joe Brooks 67-77-69—213
Bryan Sangid 69-76-70—215
Lucas Armstrong 73-73-70—216
Jackson Skeen 72-75-69—216
Cody Carlson 71-72-73—216
Nick Cohen 75-71-71—217
Chip Spratlin 73-72-73—218
Lucas Tabor 73-72-73—218
Cayman Ratliff 75-73-70—218
Jeff Scott 71-74-74—219
Tanner Davis 73-76-71—220
Tory Davis 76-73-71—220
Ethan Burger 73-74-74—221
Chad Homan 68-75-78—221
Cameron Dugger 73-73-75—221
Blake Howard 79-70-73—222
Bryson Morrell 74-75-74—223
Bryce Reed 77-72-74—223
Nick York 70-75-79—224
Brandon Mathis 74-74-76—224
Wesley Jones 77-73-75—225
Wes Hall 74-76-77—227
Chris Guy 75-70-82—227
Joe Culpepper 78-72-81—231
Jacob Davis 73-74-WD
— — —
Rick Mays 70-70-69—209
Cary Daniels 70-73-69—212
Bryan Rodgers 74-71-72—217
Mike Wood 73-74-73—220
Randy Miller 70-76-75–221
Tim Moore 74-73-74—221
Tony Gouge 75-75-72—222
Lyman Fulton 73-77-74—224
David Greer 79-71-75—225
Mike Poe 74-76-75—225
Mark Atkins 75-78-72—225
Mark Halvorsen 77-80-68-225
Bill Hardin 75-75-77—227
Jeff Andrews 79-79-71—229
James Fender 82-75-74—231
Dwight Scott 78-77-76—231
Ron Waters 72-77-82—231
Dave Bellessa 77-79-76—232
Jeff Isaacs 81-74-78—233
Stefan Salyer 75-82-79—236
Mitch Nidiffer 80-76-80—236
Ronnie Breeden 79-80-79—238
Brad Rinella 77-85-76—238
Charlie Smith 88-77-81—246
David Croston 85-85-79—249
Danny Jones 81-84-86—251
Dan Buchannan 98-91-94—283
Felicia Nidiffer 98-102-101—301
Joe Avento 80-78–WD
Marv Orio 84-86–WD
Rick Wilson WD
— — —
Mike Mills 68-75-77—220
Bob Ross 76-77-75—228
Pat Kenney 79-79-77—235
Greg Goulds 79-82-79—240
Ronnie Burton 83-81-81—245
Scott Campbell 89-80-76—245
Ansley Bishop 86-82-80—248
Jerry Whitt 84-79-91—254
Tommy Scott 92-82-82—258
James Love 89-88-83—260
— — —
Match Play Flights
Titleist Flight
Championship: Billy Haren def. Stephen Wilson
Consolation: Josh Taylor def. Tommy Tipton; Luke Bateman def. Richard Parker
Callaway Flight
Championship: Zachary Ensor def. Dylan Wyatt
Consolation: Stephen Swecker def. Michael Hawk; Tyler Stoudemire def Eric Hall
Ping Flight
Championship: Caleb Tipton def. Zach McCamey
Consolation: Stephen Stehney def Troy Baker; Cole Greer def Brad Headrick
Championship: Garrett Rader def. Seth Greene
Consolation: Stephen Holmes def. Casey Goetz; Chris Tidwell def. Chad Napier
Mizuno Flight
Championship: Paul Johnson def. Ian Herrin
Consolation: Brian Scott def. James Snyder

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox