Vying for office… 15 candidates seeking various offices during the November election

Published 12:24 pm Friday, October 2, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

With 2020 already being one crazy year for the record books, add to it being a presidential election year and one can only imagine that this election will be unlike any other especially with the number of mail-in ballots that are anticipated.

Also, there is the District One Congressional race and a senate seat up for grabs to replace Senator Lamar Alexander who decided to not run again this year.

However, the election doesn’t end there as a number of candidates locally are running for seats available in different arenas of government in the county.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Elizabethton Star is reaching out with a questionnaire to candidates for the Elizabethton City School Board of Education to see exactly where they stand on issues as well as will be reaching out to others for input as well.

To bring local residents up to speed, the following candidates and the seats they are running for will be listed as the election commission is on the cusp of opening early voting.

In the District 7 race for the Carter County Commission to replace Ray Lyons who stepped down due to health issues, there are two candidates on the ballot – James Pierce and Daniel McInturff.

The City of Watauga has three candidates who will be on the ballot for Commissioner including Timothy Peer, Richard McCracken, and Dennis Hicks.

For the third time this year, the Elizabethton City Municipal Judge will be addressed as Jason Holly who was appointed as the interim judge in February of this year and was defeated in the August primaries by Teresa Murray Smith with Holly running as a write-in due to time constraints to get on the ballot will once again be before voters.

Holly will be on the ballot this time around as the two will finally put to rest who will settle into the City Municipal judgeship after an grueling year where the two have had to square off twice in the same year for the position to replace the deceased Judge TJ Little.

The Elizabethton School Board of Education will have three open seats open as incumbent Phil Isaacs is running to keep his current seat while Board Chairwoman Rita Booher and Dr. Grover May aren’t seeking re-election in the 2020 election.

A field of five will be on the ballot to secure the three positions including Isaacs, Michael Wilson, Jamie Schaff, Geneve Treadway, and Jeffrey Bohlke.

Three Elizabethton City Council positions are up to be filled with incumbents Kim Birchfield, Mayor Curt Alexander, and Jeff Treadway all seeking re-election to the council.

Residents are reminded that Monday, October 5th is the last day to register in this year’s elections.