BlueCross Bowl 4-A State Champs dominate Region 1-4A awards

Published 10:34 pm Tuesday, December 15, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

It was only fitting that when Region 1-4A coaches got together to name their award winners for the 2020 season along with their All-Region teams.

The obvious choice for the Player of the Year award was a no-brainer for the coaches as Elizabethton senior Troy Parker Hughes who was selected as the 2020 Tennessee Titan Mr. Football continued to be recognized for his outstanding season.

Also, the coaches selected Cyclone junior signal-caller Bryson Rollins along with Greeneville’s Mason Gudger as the Offensive Player of the Year.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Another Cyclone, senior linebacker Deuce Morton, was named Defensive Player of the Year along with Sullivan South’s Eli Topping.

Elizabethton offensive lineman Cole Morganstern, who is signing with the Air Force Wednesday, was named as the Region 1-4A Offensive Lineman of the Year and was joined by junior Trenton Taylor who garnered Defensive Lineman of the Year with Rashard Claridy of Greeneville.

The Athlete of the Year was shared by Jakobi Gillespie of Greeneville and Grainger’s Dawson Holt.

Sean Smithdeal of the Cyclones was nabbed as the Specialist of the Year.

In the region, several newcomers made an impact on their teams and they were recognized as Newcomer of the Year. They include Drew Turner – Elizabethton, Adjatay Dabbs – Greeneville, Kaleb McClain – Sullivan South, Tucker Gillette – Grainger, Cale Bryant – Sullivan Central, and Dominic Cross – Sullivan East.

The following players were selected as All-Region and Honorable Mention All-Region:

Elizabethton All-Region:

1. Conner Johnson

2. Colby Garland

3. Owen Slagle

4. Wesley Erwin

5. Jake Roberts

6. Braden Holly

7. Blake Stewart

8. Caleb Johnson

9. Cameron Smith

10. Cade Russell

Honorable Mention All-Region:

1. LaDarian Avery

2. Bradley Cannon

3. Peyton Johnson

Greeneville All-Region:

1. Nick Iezzi

2. Jaden Stevenson

3. Jackson Tillery

4. Brady Quillen

5. Isaac Brown

6. Trey Mayes

7. Sam Allen

8. Terry Grove

9. Clay Odom

Honorable Mention All-Region:

1. Grayson Hite

2. Misael Arellanes

3. Mikeal Pillar

Sullivan South All-Region:

1. Fletcher Gibson

2. Eli Robinette

3. Noah Drumwright

4. Lance Pollack

5. Eli Jennings

6. Eli Iacino

7. Blake Tipton

8. Bryson Necessary

Honorable Mention All-Region:

1. Cody Pugh

2. Blake Candler

3. Jacob Bradley

Grainger All-Region:

1. Patrick Brown

2. Austin Cate

3. Bradley Greenlee

4. Cody Jeffers

5. Reggie McBee

6. Aaron Roach

7. Ty Overbay

Honorable Mention All-Region:

1. Kaden Cardoza

2. Chance Tate

3. Cainnan Long

Sullivan Central All-Region:

1. Will Nottingham

2. Conner Wilson

3. Peyton Greene

4. Preston Staubus

5. Nick Harrison

6. Jacob Wise

Honorable Mention All-Region:

1. Grant Cornett

2. Zack Strouth

3. Tanner Scalf

Sullivan East All-Region:

1. Ethan Bradford

2. Hunter Brown

3. Luke Hare

4. Owen Laprade

5. Clayton Ivester

Honorable Mention All-Region:

1. Mason Arrington

2. Dylan Lopez

3. Caleb Smith