T.A. Dugger presents awards to top students for 2020-2021

Published 9:25 pm Monday, May 24, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Working through the 2020-2021 school year was an obstacle like no other for students at all levels from elementary to high school and T.A. Dugger Jr. High was no different.

For their resilience and hard work, the faculty and staff took time to honor students in the sixth, seventh, and eighth grades who excelled in Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies, FBLA, and Citizenship Awards and recognized Outstanding Students.

Also, Honor Roll students were recognized along with some special awards for eighth-grade students.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Elizabethton Director of Schools Mr. Richard VanHuss along with T.A. Dugger Assistant Principals Travis Williams and Jason Carter joined Berry for the presentations on stage.

In the sixth grade, the following students were recognized during awards day:
Language Arts Award – Destiny Simmons.
Math Award – Braylon Britt.
Science Award – Aaron Markland.
Social Studies Award – Carsyn Hughes.
Citizenship Award – June Bailey.

Sixth Grade Outstanding Students
Riley Bowers
Aiden Cole
Sophia Estep
Phoebe Holly
Seth Holly
Madeline Isaacs
Aaron Markland
Rylee May

Seventh-grade award winners were as follows:
Language Arts Award – Helen Hackett and Sarah McCoy.
Math Award – Xander Jones.
Science Award – Helen Hackett.
Social Studies Award – Madelyn Stanberry.
Citizenship Award – Addison Holden.
FBLA Award – Princess Russell.

Seventh Grade Outstanding Students
Helen Hackett
John David Hooks
Isabelle Lewis
Alena Little
Sarah McCoy
Madelyn Stansberry
Sadie Williams

Eighth-grade award winners included:
Language Arts Award – Sophia Potter.
Math Award – Kaitlyn Gragg.
Science Award – Danielle White.
Social Studies Award – Abbigail Saye.
Citizenship Award – Aubrey Cole.
FBLA Awards – Kayleigh Shoemake, Aubrey Sparks, and Bailey Williamson.
T.A. Dugger Special Achievement Award – Sydney Wilson and Danielle White.
Paul H. Pless Award – Kayleigh Shoemake.
Vivian Johnson Excellence in Writing Award – Elise Hornyak.
Mr. Cyclone – Seth Campbell.
Miss Cyclone – Zoe Proffitt
Daniel Adams Award – James ‘Bo’ Corum.
Thomas Alexander Dugger Award – Baylor Hopland.
Gary Elliott Algebra Award – Cooper Chinault.
Remarkable Student Award – Rourke Gearing.

Eighth Grade Outstanding Students
Seth Campbell
Cooper Chinault
Rourke Gearing
Baylor Hopland
Ava Wilbur

Honor Roll Students
Sixth Grade
Riley Bowers
Kayline Brittain
Kinsley Brittain
William Buckles
Addison Campbell
Reese Campbell
Aiden Cole
Zachary Cole
Brylee Davis
Micaiah Edmondson
Sophia Estep
Abigail Gwinn
Kaitlyn Hartley
Phoebe Holly
Seth Holly
John Hornyak
Emme Horton
Madeline Isaacs
Jason Kane
Cassidy Lubag
Aaron Markland
Reagan May
Rylee May
Maddix Morton
Callie Mosley
Mahala Nave
Mallory Odum
Samuel Orsburn
Eva Payne
Taylor Penix
James Shaffer
Jasy Shell
Donald Singleton
Destiny Simmons
Emma Smith
Sophia Swink
Caylie Tester
Ethan Toombs
Travis Tyler
Lillie Vest
Chloe West

Seventh Grade
Zyleigh Bates
Piper Bennett
Anna Blackwell
Charles Clavier
Gracie Estep
Elisha Hoyt
Camdyn Garland
Helen Hackett
Lilyanne Hardin
John Hooks
Xander Jones
Isabelle Lewis
Alena Little
Ricki Markland
Sophia McKeehan
Sarah McCoy
Kalli Shepard
Madelyn Stansberry
Brooke Stevens
Lindzie Swecker
Reece Vernon
Ainsley Wampler
Sadie Williams
Keira Wolfe
Owen Yang

Eighth Grade
Liliana Aho
Alena Bunten
Logan Campbell
Seth Campbell
Cooper Chinault
Aubrey Cole
Maliya Collins
James ‘Bo’ Corum
Emily Dunlap
Hannah Escano
Amber Frickel
Rourke Gearing
Amberlin Grindstaff
Anderson Hallman
Baylor Hopland
Sophia Hyder
Cooper Jack
Jocelin Julian
Elijah Laney
Kayelyn Nave
Zoe Proffitt
Jozey Reece
Megan Royce
Kayleigh Shoemake
Lainey Snodgrass
Phillip Szymkiewicz
Logan Tolley
Dana Treadway
Lilian Walker
Loren Watson
Savannah Watts
Grace Whaley
Aaron Whitney
Ava Wilber
Grace Woodby
Tonya Yang