Elizabethton boys wins season opener In blowout fashion

Published 12:17 am Tuesday, November 23, 2021

The Elizabethton boys basketball team faced off against the IHM Ravens, a team consisting of home-schooled athletes. The Ravens stood no match for the Cyclones.

Due to the Elizabethton football team still being alive in the TSSAA state football playoffs, the Cyclones were missing guards Jake Roberts and Nate Stephens, forwards Dalton Mitchell and Bryson Rollins, and centers Mason Ball and Bradley Cannon. Another key player who was out was Nickle Wilson, the Cyclone’s starting center, who is out due to a knee injury.

Even with half the roster missing, the Cyclones still managed to pull out a 76-31 blowout win. Coach Lucas Honeycutt had to make some adjustments starting junior Kaleb Hambrick at point guard, sophomore Mac Paulson at power forward, and senior Caleb Franklin at center.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The IHM Ravens had no answer for the Cyclones’ fast-paced ball. The Cyclones dropped a barrage of three-pointers and were repeatedly scoring fast-break layups off of steals. The Cyclones quickly got a huge 31-7 lead by the end of the first. The game was over in the first quarter for all intents and purposes.

In the second quarter, Elizabethton slowed the pace down as they still managed to score 21 points compared to the Raven’s output of four to make the score at halftime, 52-11.

At the end of the half, three names stood out. Hambrick had put up 12 points, Will Churchill had 10 points, and Paulson added 15 points.

In the third, the Cyclones started making rotations, taking out the starters. The Cyclones still managed to put up 20 points against the Ravens in the third.

The fourth seemed like a whole different game, it was slow for both teams. With the Cyclones scoring only four points and the Ravens scoring eight, the Cyclones walked away with a 76-31 win.

EHS: 31 21 20 4 – 76
IHM: 7 4 12 8 – 31
EHS: Mac Paulson 14, Kaleb Hambrick 12, Zack Bates 10, Will Churchill 10, Brandon Taluskie 6 Caleb Franklin 5, Bryce Vanhuss 4, Seth Carter 4, Hayden Pickens 4, Hudson Smith 4, Hunter Stevens 3.