Election season is officially underway

Published 11:33 pm Monday, December 20, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Candidates in the 2022 Carter County election race began picking up qualification paperwork on Monday.

As of 2:30 p.m. Monday, 26 candidates had picked up packets, said Tracy Tanner-Harris, administrator of elections.

“It has been a busier day than in the past,” Tanner-Harris said. “I think most people are wanting to get it completed before the holidays. Independent candidates for the August race are picking up their packs, too.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“The bigger offices have had a larger pickup so far. Also, the school board will have primaries in May because the legislature has changed where they have to claim a party preference and run during the primaries.”

Voters will decide 24 commission seats, four school board positions, judgeships, and county offices during the May primary and August general election.

The following is a brief look at each Carter County office and candidates who have picked up packets along with minimum salary schedule based upon population along with salary received by each official:

Carter County Mayor
Incumbent – Patty Woodby (R)
Minimum salary – $104, 803
Salary paid – $113,201
Seeking Office – Patty Woodby (R), Michael Ensor (R), Danny Ward (R).

Incumbent – Dexter Lunceford (R)
Minimum salary – $101,811
Salary paid – $107,811 which includes $6,000 for workhouse.
Seeking office – Dexter Lunceford (R), William Fraley (R), Thomas Smith (R).

Incumbent – Randall Lewis (retiring)
MInimum Salary – $92,555
Salary Paid – $92,555
Seeking Office – Aaron Greer (R), Jeffrey Guinn (R), Chad Lewis (R), Andrew Wetzel (R).

County Clerk
Incumbent – Mary Gouge (R)
Minimum Salary – $92,555
Salary Paid – $92,555
Seeking Office – Mary Gouge (R), Randall Jenkins (R).

Register of Deeds
Incumbent – Jarrod Ellis (R)
Minimum Salary – $92,555
Salary Paid – $92,555
Seeking Office – Jarrod Ellis (R).

Circuit Court Clerk
Incumbent – Johnny Blankenship (R)
Minimum Salary – $92,555
Salary Paid – $92,555
Seeking Office – Johnny Blankenship (R).

County Highway Official
Incumbent – Roger Colbaugh (R)
Minimum Salary – $101,811
Salary Paid – $101,811
Seeking Office – None applied as of yet.

Criminal Court Judge
Incumbents – Stacy Street (R) and Lisa Rice (R)
Minimum salary – unknown
Salary Paid – unknown
Seeking Office – Stacy Street (R), Lisa Rice (R)