Candidate list growing for May Primary, August General elections

Published 12:05 am Saturday, January 15, 2022

Seven new candidates have qualified for the upcoming primary elections, all in the district commissioner races.
A local primary will be held on May 3 with the winners advancing to the general election Aug. 4. The deadline to submit paperwork to run will be at noon on Feb. 17.
In District 1, Republicans Kenneth Fitzgerald and Nicholas Holder along with Independent William Nichols have entered their names to run against current incumbents Dr. Robert Acuff, Willie Campbell, and Mark Blevins.
Republican Robert Burrough has joined the race in District 3 to face off with Republican Angie Odom and incumbents Bradley Johnson (R) and Charles Von Cannon (I).
District 4 now has seven candidates vying for the three spots as incumbents Isaiah Grindstaff (R), Austin Jaynes (R), and Jerry Proffitt (R) will be challenged by Republicans Danny Deal, Paul Evans, Gary Kemp, and Michael Roberts.
Five candidates have currently filed their paperwork in District 6. Joining incumbent Gary Bailey (R) will be Republican candidates Donnie Cable, Travis Lunceford, and Richard Smith along with Independent Michael Rice.
Four districts have two candidates or less vying for three seats.
District 2 has incumbent Republicans Nancy Brown and Julie Guinn while District 5 has current Commission chairwoman Ginger Holdren (R) as the only candidate that has submitted paper work.
The first candidate to enter the District 7 race filed paper work this week as Jason Rasnick (R) entered his name for consideration.
And District 8 only has two incumbents on the ballot currently with Republican Thomas Proffitt and Independent Kelly Collins seeking re-election.
Qualifying candidates as of Friday are:
Carter County Mayor
Patty Woodby (R) – incumbent
Michael Wayne Ensor (R)
Danny Ward (R)
Devon Buck (I)
Leon Humphrey, Jr. (I)
Aaron Greer (R)
Jeffrey Guinn (R)
Travis Hill (R)
Chad Lewis (R)
Andrew Wetzel (R)
**Randal Lewis – incumbent is retiring
Dexter Lunceford (R) – incumbent
Kimmie Birchfield (R)
William “Mike” Fraley (R)
Capt. Thomas Smith (R)
Rocky Croy (I)
County Clerk
Mary Gouge (R) – incumbent
Randall Jenkins (R)
Circuit Court Clerk
Johnny Blankenship (R) – incumbent
Register of Deeds
Jarrod Ellis (R) – incumbent
Superintendent of Roads
Roger Colbaugh (R) – incumbent
School Board
Christopher Hitechew (R) – incumbent Dist. 2
Garry Oaks (R) – District 2
Phillip Garland (R) – incumbent Dist. 5
Creola Miller (R) – incumbent Dist. 7
District 1
Robert Acuff (R) – incumbent
Mark Blevins (R) – incumbent
Willie Campbell (R) – incumbent
Kenneth Fitzgerald (R)
Nicholas Holder (R)
William Nichols (I)
District 2
Nancy Brown (R) – incumbent
Julie Guinn (R) – incumbent
District 3
Bradley Johnson (R) – incumbent
Robert Burrough (R)
Angela Odom (R)
Charles Von Cannon (I) – incumbent
District 4
Isaiah Grindstaff (R) – incumbent
Austin Jaynes (R) – incumbent
Jerry Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Danny Deal (R)
Paul Evans (R)
Gary Kemp (R)
Michael Roberts (R)
District 5
Ginger Holdren (R) – incumbent
District 6
Gary Bailey (R) – incumbent
Donnie Cable (R)
Travis Lunceford (R)
Richard Smith (R)
Michael Rice (I)
District 7
Jason Rasnick (R)
District 8
Thomas Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Kelly Collins (I) – incumbent
Public Defender – 1st Judicial District
Jeff Kelly (R) – incumbent
General Sessions Judge
Charles Bowers (R) – incumbent
Criminal Court Judge – 1st Judicial District
Stacy Street (R) – incumbent
Lisa Rice (R) – incumbent
District 1
Benny Montgomery (R)
Chad Odum (R)
Gary Perry (R)
Ronald Reed (I)
District 2
Christopher Grindstaff (R)
District 3
Jerry Miller
District 4
Nicole Pate (R)
Harvey Shaffer (R)
James Winchester (R)
District 5
Mark Carrier (R)
Larry Presnell (R)
District 6
James Bowers (R)
Brian Keener (R)
Bobby Trivette (R)
District 7
Dustin Baker (R)
Wayne Guinn (R)
Kenneth Potter (R)
District 8
Robert Carroll (R)

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox