Nine more candidates enter election races

Published 11:08 pm Friday, January 21, 2022

Nine additional candidates qualified this week to run for county offices.
The qualifying deadline is noon Feb. 17, with the primary election set for May 3 with the winners advancing to the general election Aug. 4.
Offices on the ballot include Mayor, Sheriff, Trustee, County Clerk, Circuit Court Clerk, Register of Deeds, Superintendent of Roads, School Board, Commissioner, and Constable.
Nine names added this week include William Hazelwood (R), who will seek a position as District 7 school board member; Incumbent District 2 Commissioner Mike Miller (R), who will seek election after completing the unfinished term of Mike Hill; Cody Vance (R), also running for District 2; John Lewis (I) and Wesley Murray (R), both seeking a seat in District 6;  Incumbent Aaron Frazier, who is seeking reelection in District 7; Marshall Simerly (I) and Christopher Grindstaff (R), both seeking the constable office in District 2; Jason Jones, seeking the constable office in District 4; and John Henson, seeking District 6 constable office.
Qualifying candidates as of Friday are:
Carter County Mayor
Patty Woodby (R) – incumbent
Michael Wayne Ensor (R)
Danny Ward (R)
Devon Buck (I)
Leon Humphrey, Jr. (I)
Aaron Greer (R)
Jeffrey Guinn (R)
Travis Hill (R)
Chad Lewis (R)
Andrew Wetzel (R)
**Randal Lewis – incumbent is retiring
Dexter Lunceford (R) – incumbent
Kimmie Birchfield (R)
William “Mike” Fraley (R)
Capt. Thomas Smith (R)
Rocky Croy (I)
County Clerk
Mary Gouge (R) – incumbent
Randall Jenkins (R)
Circuit Court Clerk
Johnny Blankenship (R) – incumbent
Register of Deeds
Jarrod Ellis (R) – incumbent
Superintendent of Roads
Roger Colbaugh (R) – incumbent
School Board
Christopher Hitechew (R) – incumbent Dist. 2
Garry Oaks (R) – District 2
Phillip Garland (R) – incumbent Dist. 5
Creola Miller (R) – incumbent Dist. 7
William Hazelwood (R) – District 7
District 1
Robert Acuff (R) – incumbent
Mark Blevins (R) – incumbent
Willie Campbell (R) – incumbent
Kenneth Fitzgerald (R)
Nicholas Holder (R)
William Nichols (I)
District 2
Nancy Brown (R) – incumbent
Julie Guinn (R) – incumbent
Michael Miller (R) – incumbent
Cody Vance (R)
District 3
Bradley Johnson (R) – incumbent
Robert Burrough (R)
Angela Odom (R)
Charles Von Cannon (I) – incumbent
District 4
Isaiah Grindstaff (R) – incumbent
Austin Jaynes (R) – incumbent
Jerry Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Danny Deal (R)
Paul Evans (R)
Gary Kemp (R)
Michael Roberts (R)
District 5
Ginger Holdren (R) – incumbent
District 6
Gary Bailey (R) – incumbent
Donnie Cable (R)
Travis Lunceford (R)
Richard Smith (R)
Wesley Murray (R)
Michael Rice (I)
John Lewis (I)
District 7
Aaron Frazier (R) – incumbent
Jason Rasnick (R)
District 8
Thomas Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Kelly Collins (I) – incumbent
Public Defender – 1st Judicial District
Jeff Kelly (R) – incumbent
General Sessions Judge
Charles Bowers (R) – incumbent
Criminal Court Judge – 1st Judicial District
Stacy Street (R) – incumbent
Lisa Rice (R) – incumbent
District 1
Benny Montgomery (R)
Chad Odum (R)
Gary Perry (R)
Ronald Reed (I)
District 2
Christopher Grindstaff (R)
Marshall Simerly (I)
District 3
Jerry Miller
District 4
Nicole Pate (R)
Harvey Shaffer (R)
James Winchester (R)
Jason Jones (R)
District 5
Mark Carrier (R)
Larry Presnell (R)
District 6
James Bowers (R)
Brian Keener (R)
Bobby Trivette (R)
John Henson (R)
District 7
Dustin Baker (R)
Wayne Guinn (R)
Kenneth Potter (R)
District 8
Robert Carroll (R)

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox