Qualifying papers turned in by six candidates

Published 4:04 pm Friday, January 28, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Six new candidates have turned in the paperwork necessary to seek election in the May 3 primary and the Aug. 4 general election.
Interested candidates have until noon Feb. 17 to submit their paperwork to the Carter County Election Commission.
This week saw Republican candidate Johnnie Fair enter his name to run for the Superintendent of Roads which is currently held by Republican incumbent Roger Colbaugh.
In the Carter County School Board race, two new candidates have entered: Republican Mitchell Tolley is seeking the District 3 seat while Republican Terry Hubbard is seeking a District 7 seat.
In the commissioners’ race, Patricia Duffield has qualified to run for commission in District 6 — a district that now boasts eight candidates seeking three seats.
Incumbent Daniel McInturff (R) has submitted his papers seeking re-election for commissioner of District 7.
The District 5 race with one candidate and District 8 with two candidates have a way to go before having the needed commissioner candidates to fill the three seats that each district must fill.
Offices on the ballot include Mayor, Sheriff, Trustee, County Clerk, Circuit Court Clerk, Register of Deeds, Superintendent of Roads, School Board, Commissioner, and Constable.
Qualifying candidates as of Friday are:
Carter County Mayor
Patty Woodby (R) – incumbent
Michael Wayne Ensor (R)
Danny Ward (R)
Devon Buck (I)
Leon Humphrey, Jr. (I)
Aaron Greer (R)
Jeffrey Guinn (R)
Travis Hill (R)
Chad Lewis (R)
Andrew Wetzel (R)
**Randal Lewis – incumbent is retiring
Dexter Lunceford (R) – incumbent
Kimmie Birchfield (R)
William “Mike” Fraley (R)
Capt. Thomas Smith (R)
Rocky Croy (I)
County Clerk
Mary Gouge (R) – incumbent
Randall Jenkins (R)
Circuit Court Clerk
Johnny Blankenship (R) – incumbent
Register of Deeds
Jarrod Ellis (R) – incumbent
Superintendent of Roads
Roger Colbaugh (R) – incumbent
Johnnie Fair (R)
School Board
Christopher Hitechew (R) – incumbent Dist. 2
Garry Oaks (R) – District 2
Mitchell Tolley (R) – District 3
Phillip Garland (R) – incumbent Dist. 5
Creola Miller (R) – incumbent Dist. 7
William Hazelwood (R) – District 7
Terry Hubbard (R) – District 7
District 1
Robert Acuff (R) – incumbent
Mark Blevins (R) – incumbent
Willie Campbell (R) – incumbent
Kenneth Fitzgerald (R)
Nicholas Holder (R)
William Nichols (I)
District 2
Nancy Brown (R) – incumbent
Julie Guinn (R) – incumbent
Michael Miller (R) – incumbent
Cody Vance (R)
District 3
Bradley Johnson (R) – incumbent
Robert Burrough (R)
Angela Odom (R)
Charles Von Cannon (I) – incumbent
District 4
Isaiah Grindstaff (R) – incumbent
Austin Jaynes (R) – incumbent
Jerry Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Danny Deal (R)
Paul Evans (R)
Gary Kemp (R)
Michael Roberts (R)
District 5
Ginger Holdren (R) – incumbent
District 6
Gary Bailey (R) – incumbent
Donnie Cable (R)
Travis Lunceford (R)
Richard Smith (R)
Wesley Murray (R)
Patricia Duffield (R)
Michael Rice (I)
John Lewis (I)
District 7
Aaron Frazier (R) – incumbent
Daniel McInturff (R) – incumbent
Jason Rasnick (R)
District 8
Thomas Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Kelly Collins (I) – incumbent
Public Defender – 1st Judicial District
Jeff Kelly (R) – incumbent
General Sessions Judge
Charles Bowers (R) – incumbent
Criminal Court Judge – 1st Judicial District
Stacy Street (R) – incumbent
Lisa Rice (R) – incumbent
District 1
Benny Montgomery (R)
Chad Odum (R)
Gary Perry (R)
Ronald Reed (I)
District 2
Christopher Grindstaff (R)
Marshall Simerly (I)
District 3
Jerry Miller
Scott Whaley
District 4
Nicole Pate (R)
Harvey Shaffer (R)
James Winchester (R)
Jason Jones (R)
District 5
Mark Carrier (R)
Larry Presnell (R)
Joshua Jenkins (R)
District 6
James Bowers (R)
Brian Keener (R)
Bobby Trivette (R)
John Henson (R)
District 7
Dustin Baker (R)
Wayne Guinn (R)
Kenneth Potter (R)
District 8
Robert Carroll (R)

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox