10 new candidates submit qualifying papers, two withdraw names

Published 8:57 pm Friday, February 4, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Ten additional candidates submitted qualifying papers for the May 3 primary and Aug. 4 general elections, while two candidates withdrew.
Interested candidates have until noon Feb. 17 to submit their paperwork to the Carter County Election Commission.
Offices on the ballot include Mayor, Sheriff, Trustee, County Clerk, Circuit Court Clerk, Register of Deeds, Superintendent of Roads, School Board, Commissioner, and Constable.
Independent Jason Shell filed to run for Superintendent of Roads.
In the race for four school board seats, District 7 candidate William Hazelwood (R) has removed his name from consideration while Vince Whitehead (R) qualified for District 3.
In the race for commission seats, Districts 2, 5, and 8 have each added a new candidate as Dayton Souder (R) is seeking a seat in District 2; Lisa Childress in District 5; and Cody McQueen in District 8.
Wesley Murray withdrew from the top-heavy District 6 race that still has seven candidates vying for three seats.
The only district lacking enough candidates to fill three commissioner seats is District 5 which has two candidates with their paperwork submitted.
The other candidates remaining who submitted paperwork came from the judicial bodies.
Seeking office for Circuit Court Judge Part 2 in District 1 will be Lois Bunton-Shults-Davis (R) and Suzanne Cook (R). Steve Finney (R) has entered his name for consideration as the District Attorney General after current D.A. Ken Baldwin announced he wouldn’t be seeking re-election.
John Rambo (R) will seek re-election as the 1st Judicial District Chancellor while Republican J. Eddie Lauderback looks to win the Circuit Court Judge Part 1 for District 1.
A list of qualifying candidates as of Friday are:
Carter County Mayor
Patty Woodby (R) – incumbent
Michael Wayne Ensor (R)
Danny Ward (R)
Devon Buck (I)
Leon Humphrey, Jr. (I)
Aaron Greer (R)
Jeffrey Guinn (R)
Travis Hill (R)
Chad Lewis (R)
Andrew Wetzel (R)
**Randal Lewis – incumbent is retiring
Dexter Lunceford (R) – incumbent
Kimmie Birchfield (R)
William “Mike” Fraley (R)
Capt. Thomas Smith (R)
Rocky Croy (I)
County Clerk
Mary Gouge (R) – incumbent
Randall Jenkins (R)
Circuit Court Clerk
Johnny Blankenship (R) – incumbent
Register of Deeds
Jarrod Ellis (R) – incumbent
Superintendent of Roads
Roger Colbaugh (R) – incumbent
Johnnie Fair (R)
Jason Shell (I)
School Board
Christopher Hitechew (R) – incumbent Dist. 2
Garry Oaks (R) – District 2
Mitchell Tolley (R) – District 3
Vince Whitehead (R) – District 3
Phillip Garland (R) – incumbent Dist. 5
Creola Miller (R) – incumbent Dist. 7
Terry Hubbard (R) – District 7
District 1
Robert Acuff (R) – incumbent
Mark Blevins (R) – incumbent
Willie Campbell (R) – incumbent
Kenneth Fitzgerald (R)
Nicholas Holder (R)
William Nichols (I)
District 2
Nancy Brown (R) – incumbent
Julie Guinn (R) – incumbent
Michael Miller (R) – incumbent
Cody Vance (R)
Dayton Souder (R)
District 3
Bradley Johnson (R) – incumbent
Robert Burrough (R)
Angela Odom (R)
Charles Von Cannon (I) – incumbent
District 4
Isaiah Grindstaff (R) – incumbent
Austin Jaynes (R) – incumbent
Jerry Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Danny Deal (R)
Paul Evans (R)
Gary Kemp (R)
Michael Roberts (R)
District 5
Ginger Holdren (R) – incumbent
Lisa Childress (R)
District 6
Gary Bailey (R) – incumbent
Donnie Cable (R)
Travis Lunceford (R)
Richard Smith (R)
Patricia Duffield (R)
Michael Rice (I)
John Lewis (I)
District 7
Aaron Frazier (R) – incumbent
Daniel McInturff (R) – incumbent
Jason Rasnick (R)
District 8
Thomas Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Cody McQueen (R)
Kelly Collins (I) – incumbent
Public Defender – 1st Judicial District
Jeff Kelly (R) – incumbent
General Sessions Judge
Charles Bowers (R) – incumbent
Criminal Court Judge – 1st Judicial District
Stacy Street (R) – incumbent
Lisa Rice (R) – incumbent
Circuit Court Judge Part 2 – District 1
Lois Bunton-Shults-Davis (R)
Suzanne Cook (R)
District Attorney General
Steve Finney (R)
Chancellor – 1st Judicial District
John Rambo (R)
Circuit Court Judge Part 1 – District 1
J. Eddie Lauderback (R)
District 1
Benny Montgomery (R)
Chad Odum (R)
Gary Perry (R)
Ronald Reed (I)
District 2
Christopher Grindstaff (R)
Marshall Simerly (I)
District 3
Jerry Miller
Scott Whaley
District 4
Nicole Pate (R)
Harvey Shaffer (R)
James Winchester (R)
Jason Jones (R)
District 5
Mark Carrier (R)
Larry Presnell (R)
Joshua Jenkins (R)
District 6
James Bowers (R)
Brian Keener (R)
Bobby Trivette (R)
John Henson (R)
District 7
Dustin Baker (R)
Wayne Guinn (R)
Kenneth Potter (R)
District 8
Robert Carroll (R)

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox