Carter County Sports HOF announces 2022 class

Published 8:47 am Tuesday, February 8, 2022

The Carter County Sports Hall of Fame publicly named its 2022 class on Monday.
Representing Elizabethton High will be Shawn Witten, Rick Carriger, Ron Carver, Dennis McKesson, Keith Turner, Charles Peters III, Mariah Pietrowski and Johnny Taylor.
For Unaka, it will be Paul Gouge, Eddie Hardin, DeeAnna Campbell Hall and Jim Williams. Pegged for induction from Hampton are Tim Davis, Joyce Street Senesi, Howard Duncan and Matt Cates.
Cloudland’s Gary Stocton, Roger Stocton, Brooke Johnson Julian and Rick Birchfield have been pegged for induction, as have Happy Valley’s Bobby Sams, Teresa Phipps, Keith Lyons and Renee Bennett Garland.
Going in for Milligan will be Charles “Toonie” Cash and Gabe Goulds. Longtime official Johnny Honeycutt is also set for enshrinement.
Honorary inductees this year are Gloria Hall, Eloise Birchfield, Jane Bayless and Cynthia Ensor.
This year’s induction ceremony is tentatively set for Saturday, June 25 at the Tennessee Center of Applied Technology.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox