Qualifying paperwork continues to come in

Published 9:41 pm Wednesday, February 16, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
With days quickly turning into hours remaining before the deadline expires to turn in qualifying papers for the May 3 primary and Aug. 4 general elections, candidates continued to turn in their papers as the day ended Tuesday.
As of Monday, 38 potential candidates for Carter County Commission had picked up the necessary paperwork to complete and only 15 had turned those back in. On Tuesday, that number climbed to 20 out of 38.
District 2 and District 5 to date only have one candidate in each district who has submitted qualifying papers. Each of the eight districts has three seats to fill.
Also, according to Carter County Administrator of Elections Tracy Tanner-Harris, the state has notified her office that Johnnie Fair did not meet the qualifications required for the Superintendent of Roads position that he sought.
Jason Shell, an Independent candidate for the same office, did not meet the Feb. 3 deadline to have his papers into the state elections office in Nashville and therefore will not be on the ballot.
However, according to Tanner-Harris, because Shell is re-certified from eight years ago, he can still do a write-in campaign for Superintendent of Roads.
The deadline to submit qualifying papers is Thursday at noon.
Those who have submitted all paperwork needed is marked with an asterisk*.
Carter County Mayor
Patty Woodby (R) – incumbent*
Michael Wayne Ensor (R)*
Danny Ward (R)*
Devon Buck (I)*
Leon Humphrey, Jr. (I)*
Aaron Greer (R)*
Jeffrey Guinn (R)*
Travis Hill (I)*
Chad Lewis (R)*
Andrew Wetzel (R)*
**Randal Lewis – incumbent is retiring
Dexter Lunceford (R) – incumbent*
Kimmie Birchfield (R)*
William “Mike” Fraley (R)*
Capt. Thomas Smith (R)*
Rocky Croy (I)*
County Clerk
Mary Gouge (R) – incumbent*
Randall Jenkins (R)*
Derek Nave (R)
Circuit Court Clerk
Johnny Blankenship (R) – incumbent*
Register of Deeds
Jarrod Ellis (R) – incumbent*
Superintendent of Roads
Roger Colbaugh (R) – incumbent*
Johnnie Fair (R)* – did not qualify per state
School Board
Christopher Hitechew (R) – incumbent Dist. 2*
Garry Oaks (R) – District 2*
Mitchell Tolley (R) – District 3*
Vince Whitehead (R) – District 3
Phillip Garland (R) – incumbent Dist. 5*
Creola Miller (R) – incumbent Dist. 7*
Terry Hubbard (R) – District 7*
District 1
Robert Acuff (R) – incumbent
Mark Blevins (R) – incumbent*
Willie Campbell (R) – incumbent*
Kenneth Fitzgerald (R)*
Nicholas Holder (R)*
William Nichols (I)
District 2
Nancy Brown (R) – incumbent*
Julie Guinn (R) – incumbent
Michael Miller (R) – incumbent
Cody Vance (R)
Dayton Souder (R)
District 3
Bradley Johnson (R) – incumbent*
Robert Burrough (R)*
Angela Odom (R)*
Charles Von Cannon (I) – incumbent
District 4
Isaiah Grindstaff (R) – incumbent
Austin Jaynes (R) – incumbent
Jerry Proffitt (R) – incumbent*
Danny Deal (R)*
Paul Evans (R)
Gary Kemp (R)*
Michael Roberts (R)
District 5
Ginger Holdren (R) – incumbent*
Lisa Childress (R)
Layla Ward
District 6
Gary Bailey (R) – incumbent
Donnie Cable (R)*
Travis Lunceford (R)
Todd Smith (R)*
Patricia Duffield (R)*
Michael Rice (I)
John Lewis (I)
District 7
Aaron Frazier (R) – incumbent*
Daniel McInturff (R) – incumbent
Jason Rasnick (R)*
District 8
Thomas Proffitt (R) – incumbent*
Kelly Collins (I) – incumbent*
Cody McQueen (R)*
Public Defender – 1st Judicial District
Jeff Kelly (R) – incumbent*
General Sessions Judge
Charles Bowers (R) – incumbent*
Criminal Court Judge – 1st Judicial District
Stacy Street (R) – incumbent*
Lisa Rice (R) – incumbent*
District 1
Benny Montgomery (R)*
Chad Odum (R)*
Gary Perry (R)*
Ronald Reed (I)*
District 2
Christopher Grindstaff (R)
Marshall Simerly (I)
District 3
Jerry Miller*
Scott Whaley*
District 4
Nicole Pate (R)
Harvey Shaffer (R)*
James Winchester (R)*
Jason Jones (R)*
District 5
Mark Carrier (R)*
Larry Presnell (R)
Joshua Jenkins (R)
District 6
James Bowers (R)*
Brian Keener (R)*
Bobby Trivette (R)*
John Henson (R)*
District 7
Dustin Baker (R)*
Wayne Guinn (R)
Kenneth Potter (R)*
District 8
Robert Carroll (R)*
State of Tennessee House of Representatives – 4
John B. Holsclaw (R) – incumbent
Republican State Executive Committeewoman -3RC
Charlene Thomas

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox