POST confirms qualifications of five candidates for sheriff

Published 12:54 pm Wednesday, February 23, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
The Tennessee Peace Officer Standards and Training Commission (POST) has confirmed all five candidates who submitted paperwork to run for Carter County Sheriff in the May 3 Primary and Aug. 4 General Election have met the criteria to run for the office.
That according to an email received from Carter County Administrator of Elections Tracy Tanner-Harris.
Tanner-Harris said she received a memo from POST stating, “The named applicants for the 2022 Sheriff’s Election have met all qualifications for certification as issued by the Peace Officers Standards and Training (POST) Commission under the requirements of TCA 8-8-102.”
Those candidates are Kimmie Birchfield (R), Rocky Croy (I), William Fraley (R), incumbent Dexter Lunceford (R), and Thomas Smith (R).
Birchfield, Fraley, Lunceford, and Smith will be on the May 3 Primary ticket while Croy will be on the Aug. 4 General Election ballot.
All candidates for each office have until Thursday to withdraw their name from consideration. Harris-Tanner said that the election commission will certify all the candidates that have qualified on Monday.
The following candidates will be on the May 3 Primary ticket once certified:
Carter County Mayor
Patty Woodby (R) – incumbent
Michael Wayne Ensor (R)
Danny Ward (R)
Aaron Greer (R)
Jeffrey Guinn (R)
Travis Hill (I)
Chad Lewis (R)
Andrew Wetzel (R)
Larry Adams (R)
**Randal Lewis – incumbent is retiring
Dexter Lunceford (R) – incumbent
Kimmie Birchfield (R)
William “Mike” Fraley (R)
Capt. Thomas Smith (R)
County Clerk
Mary Gouge (R) – incumbent
Randall Jenkins (R)
Circuit Court Clerk
Johnny Blankenship (R) – incumbent
Register of Deeds
Jarrod Ellis (R) – incumbent
Superintendent of Roads
Roger Colbaugh (R) – incumbent
School Board
Christopher Hitechew (R) – incumbent Dist. 2
Garry Oaks (R) – District 2
Jeremiah Tolley (R) – District 3
Tony Garland (R) – incumbent District 5
Creola Miller (R) – incumbent District 7
Terry Hubbard (R) – District 7
District 1
Robert Acuff (R) – incumbent
Mark Blevins (R) – incumbent
Willie Campbell (R) – incumbent
Kenneth Fitzgerald (R)
Nick Holder (R)
District 2
Nancy Brown (R) – incumbent
Julie Guinn (R) – incumbent
District 3
Bradley Johnson (R) – incumbent
Steve Burrough (R)
Angela Odom (R)
District 4
Jerry Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Danny Deal (R)
Gary Kemp (R)
Michael Roberts (R)
District 5
Ginger Holdren (R) – incumbent
Lisa Childress (R)
District 6
Gary Bailey (R) – incumbent
Donnie Cable (R)
Todd Smith (R)
Pattie Duffield (R)
District 7
Aaron Frazier (R) – incumbent
Daniel McInturff (R) – incumbent
Jason Rasnick (R)
District 8
Thomas Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Cody McQueen (R)
Public Defender – 1st Judicial District
Jeff Kelly (R) – incumbent
General Sessions Judge
Charles Bowers (R) – incumbent
Criminal Court Judge – 1st Judicial District
Stacy Street (R) – incumbent
Lisa Rice (R) – incumbent
District 1
Benny Montgomery (R)
Chad Odum (R)
Gary Perry (R)
District 2
Chris Grindstaff (R)
District 3
Jerry Miller
Scott Whaley
District 4
Nicole Pate (R)
Harvey Shaffer (R)
Jim Winchester (R)
Jason Jones (R)
District 5
Mark Carrier (R)
District 6
James Bowers (R)
Brian Keener (R)
Bobby Trivette (R)
John Henson (R)
District 7
Dustin Baker (R)
Kenneth Potter (R)
District 8
Robert “Bob” Carroll (R)
Republican State Executive Committeewoman – 3RC
Charlene Thomas
Circuit Court Judge Part 2 – District 1
Lois Bunton-Shults-Davis (R)
Suzanne Cook (R)
District Attorney General
Steve Finney (R)
Chancellor – 1st Judicial District
John C. Rambo
Circuit Court Judge Part 1 – District 1
J. Eddie Lauderback
The following will be included on the ballot for the Aug. 4 General Election:
Devon Buck (I)
Leon Humphrey, Jr. (I)
Rocky Croy (I)*
District 1
David Nichols (I)
District 3
Charles Von Cannon (I) – incumbent
David Cannon (I)
District 6
John Lewis (I)
District 8
Kelly Collins (I) – incumbent
District 1
Ronald Reed (I)*

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox