Happy Valley High inducts new members into National Honor Society

Published 10:49 pm Monday, March 14, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
The National Honor Society at Happy Valley High School inducted 27 new members and named officers on March 10.
With a goal of promoting leadership, scholarship and service, members participate in events such as food drives, community service projects, and even blood donation.
“I’ve never had a leadership position with an actual title before, so being an officer has allowed me to learn what it’s like to lead,” said treasurer Jackson Taylor.
“Being able to help in the community has taught me better leadership and communication skills when it comes to group work,” said Charley Calixto, the club’s secretary.
Club sponsors Brooke Tolley and Greta Helm expressed their gratitude and pride for the current members. “It’s been an honor watching what these students have done not only in our school but in our community. I couldn’t be more proud of them,” Helm said.
Club members have recently partnered with Coalition for Kids, where they provide school supplies to children in Ukraine.
“Multiple organizations and clubs came together at Happy Valley and put together a project that will send school supplies to students that are currently in Ukraine. We want to help in any way we can and we feel this is the best way to show support,” said Autumn Earp, Vice President.
The club is currently working on becoming more involved with Happy Valley Middle and Elementary schools, hoping to create programs that include all of the students.
“The best part of being in N.H.S has to be the connection that everyone has made with one another, they’re amazing people to work with,” said Autumn Earp, the club’s vice president.
Doug Mitchell, the school’s current principal, closed the induction ceremony by praising the members.
“These have been some of the most outstanding students we’ve had and it’s been an honor to watch them grow,” he said.
Those inducted include Anslie Pinkston, Meghan Ward, McKenzie Hampton, Jessica Hale, Holly Moore, Lauren Younce, Autumn Henegar, Daniel Burleson, Dalaina Ragan, Makenzie Keller, Clara Smith, Madison Lingerfelt, Emma Helbert, Alyssa Hensley, Kaydie Blankenship, Faith Shell, Gracee Wolfe, Alexis Smith, Jackson Taylor, Autumn Earp, Hunter Smith, Zachary Stephens, Abigail Miller, Charley Calixto, Ryan Eggers, Katlynn Yates, and Maggie Ensor.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox