National Football Foundation announces 8th Annual Awards Banquet… Honoring local student-athletes, football coaches, and officials and Annual Hall of Fame Inductions

Published 3:13 pm Friday, April 8, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Johnson City – The Mountain Empire Chapter of the National Football Foundation has announced its annual awards banquet will be Saturday, April 30, 2022 at 9:30am at the DoubleTree Hotel in Johnson City, Tennessee.
Twelve elite student-athletes from its member schools will be recognized, and over $6,000 is college scholarships will be awarded.
Prominent college coaches from across the region have been invited to attend. One football senior from each area university will be honored for achievements both on and off the field.
The John Robert Bell Coach’s Award and James Cradic Official’s Award will be presented to a legendary coach and football official, who will subsequently be inducted into the NFF Mountain Empire Football Hall of Fame.
High School Scholar-Athletes to be recognized include:
  • Chase Shell (Cloudland)
  • Brenden Reid (David Crockett)
  • Hayden Sherer (Dobyns-Bennett)
  • Jake Roberts (Elizabethton)
  • Mckinley Kuhn (Hampton)
  • Landon Babb (Happy Valley)
  • Nathaniel Summerow (Johnson County)
  • Justice Musser (Tennessee High)
  • Isaiah Smith (Unicoi County)
  • Caleb Lydick (Unaka)
  • Garrison Barrett (Volunteer)
  • Austin Riner (West Ridge)
Also present for the spectacular event will be the 2022 Hall of Fame Class to be included into the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame:
  • David Bibee – Tennessee High (1973)
  • Carroll Dale – JJ Kelly (1956)
  • Hal Miller – Dobyns-Bennett (1948) (represented by his wife and family)
  • Tommy Sams – Happy Valley (1992)
  • Coach John Cropp – Tennessee High

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox