Early voting set to begin Wednesday

Published 12:24 pm Monday, April 11, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
With the May 3 Primary less than three weeks away, those who wish to cast their votes early will be able to starting at 9 a.m. Wednesday at the Carter County Election Commission located at 116 Holston Ave. in Elizabethton.
The early-voting period runs each weekday, including Saturdays, from Wednesday until Thursday, April 28. Hors are from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Voters are reminded that there will be no voting on Good Friday, April 15.
Election Administrator Tracy Harris also wanted to remind voters that will need to provide a Tennessee or Federal ID photo and for those wishing to request an absentee by-mail ballot have until Tuesday, April 26 to do so.
Harris wanted to make voters aware of a couple of important logistics when coming to vote.
“On April 28, the First Baptist Church parking lot will be closed off that afternoon for food distribution,” said Harris. “Voters can park in the upper parking lot and in the election commission parking lot. Please be courteous and DO NOT park at the Health Department on ANY Early Voting days through the week because the elderly, pregnant mothers, and mothers with small children need those parking spaces.”
There are several offices that voters will be casting ballots for in the May 3 Primary including Circuit Court Judge – Part 1&2, Chancellor, Criminal Court Judge – Part 1&2, District Attorney, Public Defender all in the 1st Judicial District, County Mayor, County Commissioners, Trustee, General Sessions Judge, Sheriff, Circuit Court Clerk, County Clerk, Register of Deeds, Superintendent of Roads, School Board for Districts 2, 3, 5, & 7, and Constables.
The following candidates will be on the May 3 Primary ticket:
Carter County Mayor
Patty Woodby (R) – incumbent
Michael Wayne Ensor (R)
Danny Ward (R)
Aaron Greer (R)
Jeffrey Guinn (R)
Travis Hill (R)
Chad Lewis (R)
Andrew Wetzel (R)
Larry Adams (R)
Dexter Lunceford (R) – incumbent
Kimmie Birchfield (R)
William “Mike” Fraley (R)
Capt. Thomas Smith (R)
County Clerk
Mary Gouge (R) – incumbent
Randall Jenkins (R)
Circuit Court Clerk
Johnny Blankenship (R) – incumbent
Register of Deeds
Jarrod Ellis (R) – incumbent
Superintendent of Roads
Roger Colbaugh (R) – incumbent
School Board
Christopher Hitechew (R) – incumbent Dist. 2
Garry Oaks (R) – District 2
Jeremiah Tolley (R) – District 3
Tony Garland (R) – incumbent District 5
Creola Miller (R) – incumbent District 7
Terry Hubbard (R) – District 7
District 1
Robert Acuff (R) – incumbent
Mark Blevins (R) – incumbent
Willie Campbell (R) – incumbent
Kenneth Fitzgerald (R)
Nick Holder (R)
District 2
Nancy Brown (R) – incumbent
Julie Guinn (R) – incumbent
District 3
Bradley Johnson (R) – incumbent
Steve Burrough (R)
Angela Odom (R)
District 4
Jerry Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Danny Deal (R)
Gary Kemp (R)
Michael Roberts (R)
District 5
Ginger Holdren (R) – incumbent
Lisa Childress (R)
District 6
Gary Bailey (R) – incumbent
Donnie Cable (R)
Todd Smith (R)
Pattie Duffield (R)
District 7
Aaron Frazier (R) – incumbent
Daniel McInturff (R) – incumbent
Jason Rasnick (R)
District 8
Thomas Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Cody McQueen (R)
Public Defender – 1st Judicial District
Jeff Kelly (R) – incumbent
General Sessions Judge
Charles Bowers (R) – incumbent
Criminal Court Judge – 1st Judicial District
Stacy Street (R) – incumbent
Lisa Rice (R) – incumbent
District 1
Benny Montgomery (R)
Chad Odum (R)
Gary Perry (R)
District 2
Chris Grindstaff (R)
District 3
Jerry Miller
Scott Whaley
District 4
Nicole Pate (R)
Harvey Shaffer (R)
Jim Winchester (R)
Jason Jones (R)
District 5
Mark Carrier (R)
District 6
James Bowers (R)
Brian Keener (R)
Bobby Trivette (R)
John Henson (R)
District 7
Dustin Baker (R)
Kenneth Potter (R)
District 8
Robert ‘Bob’ Carroll (R)
Republican State Executive Committeewoman -3RC
Charlene Thomas
Circuit Court Judge Part 2 – District 1
Lois Bunton-Shults-Davis (R)
Suzanne Cook (R)
District Attorney General
Steve Finney (R)
Chancellor – 1st Judicial District
John C. Rambo
Circuit Court Judge Part 1 – District 1
J. Eddie Lauderback

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox