Number of early voters down from 2018 Primary

Published 3:21 pm Friday, April 29, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Only 10% of registered voters cast ballots during the early voting period, which is concerning to Administrator of Elections Tracy Tanner Harris.
A total of 3,477 votes were cast during Early Voting for the May 3 primary. In 2018, that number was over 4,000. There are 34,160 registered votes in Carter County which means only a small fraction of over 10% have voted thus far.
In the 2018 election, the total number of votes cast was less than 10,000.
“It’s very concerning the lack of voting on these major offices that can determine the future for our beautiful little county,” Harris said Friday morning. “I hope that people will take the time to vote on Tuesday between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.”
Harris said she is concerned about the effects of controversy on voters.
“To be honest, after the concerns and controversies over the last federal election, I’ve heard so many people claim they would never vote again,” Harris said. “Although Tennessee wasn’t in the states mentioned, I think that the integrity of all the elections are questioned now by the people. That’s why we work so hard to maintain transparency and ensure the voters that our elections are fair and by the letter of the law.”
She said that she hoped that people would take this into consideration on Election Day and invited anyone to come to the election commission office with the media as the results come in from the precincts at the close of polls on Tuesday night.
Harris said the recent election guide printed by the Star gave voters information on the candidates running in the election and believes it was a driving force behind the two busiest days of the Early Voting period.
Free copies of the Voter’s Guide are available at the Star’s front desk while supplies last.
Voters heading to the polls on Tuesday must bring a picture ID with them. If anyone has questions about their district precincts since redistricting occurred this year, to call the Carter County Election Commission office at 423-542-1822 or come by the office located at 116 Holston Ave. in Elizabethton.
A list of the voting precincts where voters can cast their ballots from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday are as follows:
First District
Hunter Precinct
Hunter Elementary School
145 Hope St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Midway Precinct
Stoney Creek VFD #3
2780 Hwy. 91
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Unaka Precinct
Unaka Elementary School
120 Unaka Dr.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Second District
Roan Mountain Precinct
Cloudland Elementary School
8540 Hwy. 19E
Roan Mountain, TN 37687
Tiger Valley Precinct
Hampton High School
766 First Ave.
Hampton, TN 37658
Third District
Central Precinct
Central Elementary School
252 Taylortown Rd.
Johnson City, TN 37601
Keenburg Precinct
Keenburg Elementary School
139 Keenburg Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Range Precinct
Fairview Baptist Church Fellowship Hall
585 Watauga Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Watauga Precinct (W)*
Watauga City Hall
104 W. Fourth Ave.
Watauga, TN 37687
Fourth District
Courthouse Precinct
Main Courthouse
801 Elk Ave.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Eastside Precinct
Eastside Elementary School
800 Siam Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
National Guard Precinct
National Guard Armory
128 Judge Don Lewis Blvd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Siam Precinct
Siam Consolidated Learning Center
2453 Siam Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Fifth District
Happy Valley Precinct
Happy Valley Elementary School
1840 Milligan Hwy.
Johnson City, TN 37601
Sixth District
Elk Mills Precinct
Elk Mills Volunteer Fire Department
107 Poga Rd.
Butler, TN 37640
Hampton Precinct
Hampton Elementary School
408 Hwy. 321
Hampton, TN 37658
Little Milligan Precinct
Little Milligan Elementary School
4226 Hwy. 321
Butler, TN 37640
Valley Forge Precinct
Valley Forge Elementary School
1485 Riverview Dr.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Seventh District
Gap Creek Precinct
Happy Valley High School
121 Warpath Lane
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Westside Precinct
Westside Elementary School
1300 Burgie St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
Eight District
Harold McCormick Precinct
Harold McCormick Elementary School
226 S. Cedar Ave.
Elizabethton, TN 37643
High School Precinct
T.A. Dugger Jr. High School
305 West E St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox