Jenkins’ showing not enough to overtake Gouge for County Clerk

Published 3:39 pm Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Long-time County Clerk Mary Gouge will return for another term after holding off challenger and former Carter County Commissioner Randall Jenkins.

Gouge took 59.5% of the vote in Tuesday’s primary with 5,157 votes to Jenkins’ 3,507.

Other county office elections saw Jarrod Ellis receive 7,456 complimentary votes as he ran unopposed for the Register of Deeds office and Johnny Blankenship garner 7,182 complimentary votes as he ran unopposed for Circuit Court Clerk.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Roger Colbaugh, Superintendent of Roads, also ran unopposed and received 6,653 votes.

In the county School Board race, two incumbents were defeated on Tuesday.

Chris Hitechew was unseated by Garry Oaks in District 2 as Oaks received 60.24% of the votes cast, defeating Hitechew 615-404.

Also, Terry Hubbard defeated incumbent Creola Miller in District 7 as Hubbard received 553 votes (54.86%) while Miller finished with 455 votes.

Incumbent Phillip “Tony” Garland ran unopposed and received 408 token votes in District 5 while Jeremiah Tolley will represent District 3 as he received 734 votes while running uncontested.

In the lone contested Judgeship race for Circuit Court Judge Part II District 1, Suzanne Cook received 55.47% of the votes (4,350) to defeat challenger Lois Bunton-Shults-Davis (3,484).

Constables were also on the primary ticket with the top two vote receivers for their district taking office. District 1 is the only district that will have a candidate on the August ticket in Ronald Reed to challenge for one of the two positions:

District 1
Chad Odom – 713
Gary Perry – 689
Benny Montgomery – 472

District 2
Chris Grindstaff – 794

District 3
Scott Whaley – 651
Jerry Miller – 619

District 4
Harvey Shaffer – 796
Jason Jones – 459
Jim Winchester – 318
Nicole Pate – 317

District 5
Mark Carrier – 337
Larry Presnell, Jr. – 334

District 6
John Henson – 738
Bobby Trivette – 611
James Bowers – 537
Brian Keener – 167

District 7
Dustin Baker – 749
Ken Potter – 649

District 8
Bob Carroll – 576