Beach Nite Band kicks off 2022 Lakeside Concert Series

Published 2:42 pm Monday, May 23, 2022

Winged Deer Park’s Lakeside Concert Series begins its 15th year of showcasing local, diverse musical talent at the park’s Lakefront Festival Plaza Goulding Amphitheater on Thursday, June 2, with Beach Nite Band.

The free concerts offer a mix of the area’s top talent at a venue known for its friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Attendees are encouraged to bring blankets or folding chairs to relax on the grassy hillsides, or move and groove whenever the mood strikes. The location provides easy access, free parking, concessions, and a playground.

The popular Beach Nite Band returns to Winged Deer Park’s lakefront performing Carolina beach music featuring soul, R&B, disco, blues, boogie, and memorable oldies music. The band, which has been providing live entertainment for several decades, is based out of the western Virginia/southern West Virginia regions, and members previously performed with the doo-wop group The Collegians for more than 20 years.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The concerts will be held 7-9 p.m. each Thursday through July 28 at Winged Deer Park’s Goulding Amphitheatre, 199 Carroll Creek Road, Johnson City. There are two exceptions this year. The Johnson City Symphony Orchestra will perform at 6 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 11, at the Winged Deer Park Festival Plaza, and there will be no concert on Thursday, June 30.

This year’s concert schedule is as follows:
• Thursday, June 2 — Beach Nite Band
• Thursday, June 9 — The Billy Crawford Band
• Thursday, June 16 — J.R. and the Big Guns
• Thursday, June 23 — The Shooter Band
• Thursday, June 30 — NO CONCERT
• Thursday, July 7 — Big Band Theory
• Thursday, July 14 — My New Favorite
• Thursday, July 21 — Jesse Barry and the Jam
• Thursday, July 28 — Powershift
• Sunday, Sept. 11 — Johnson City Symphony Orchestra

The Lakeside Concert Series is presented by The News & Neighbor, 101.5 WQUT Tri-Cities’ Classic Rock, the Washington County Sheriff’s Department, and the Tennessee Department of Transportation.

For more information call 423-283-5827.