Voters still have time to register for August State General Election

Published 5:21 pm Wednesday, June 1, 2022

The Carter County Election Commission is taking time to remind Carter County residents that they have until Tuesday, July 5, to register to vote in the Aug. 4 General Election.

Administrator of Elections Tracy Tanner-Harris wants to make sure that those who want to or planning to vote are aware of the important dates leading up to the election.

“We will be having early voting from July 15 to July 30,” Harris said. “For those wishing to vote by absentee, the requests for those ballots is taking place from now until July 28 and must be returned by the Aug. 4 State General Election.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Harris added that if any resident has any questions about voting in the election that they can contact the Election Commission at 423-542-1822 or stop by the office located at 116 Holston Avenue in Elizabethton from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

The ballot is going to be extensive according to Harris due to all the judges that voters will be asked to either retain or replace.

Voting precincts will remain the same as they were for the May Primary election.

Harris said that to date no one has withdrawn their name from consideration. The following names will be on the local portion of the ballot in August:

Carter County Mayor
Patty Woodby (R) – incumbent
Leon Humphrey Jr. (I)
Devon Buck (I)

William “Mike” Fraley (R)
Rocky L. Croy (I)

District 1
Robert Acuff (R) – incumbent
Willie Campbell (R) – incumbent
Nick Holder (R)
David Nichols (I)

District 3
Bradley Johnson (R) – incumbent
Steve Burrough (R)
Angela Odom (R)
David Cannon (I)
Charles Von Cannon (I) – incumbent

District 6
Donnie Cable (R)
Todd Smith (R)
Pattie Duffield (R)
John Lewis (I)

District 8
Thomas Proffitt (R) – incumbent
Cody McQueen (R)
Kelly Collins (I) – incumbent

District 1
Chad Odom (R)
Gary Perry (R)
Ronald Reed (I)

There also will be state-wide primaries on the ballot Aug. 4. Those include:
Bill Lee (R)
Carnita Faye Atwater (D)
Jason Brantley Martin (D)
JB Smiley Jr. (D)
Constance M. Every (I)
John Gentry (I)
Basil Marceaux (I)
Charles Van Morgan (I)
Alfred O’Neil (I)
Deborah Rouse (I)
Michael E. Scantland (I)
Rick Tyler (I)

United States House of Representatives – District 1
Diana Lynn Harshbarger (R)
Cameron Parsons (D)
Richard G. Baker (I)
Matt Makrom (I)

Tennessee House of Representatives
District 3
Johnson, parts of Carter, Hawkins, Sullivan
Scotty Campbell (R)

District 4
Unicoi, part of Carter
John B. Holsclaw Jr. (R)

Tennessee Senate
District 3
Carter, Johnson, Washington
Rusty Crowe (R)
Kate Craig (D)

The following locations are the voting precincts for the Aug. 4 State General Election.

First District
Hunter Precinct
Hunter Elementary School
145 Hope St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Midway Precinct
Stoney Creek VFD #3
2780 Hwy. 91
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Unaka Precinct
Unaka Elementary School
120 Unaka Dr.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Second District
Roan Mountain Precinct
Cloudland Elementary School
8540 Hwy. 19E
Roan Mountain, TN 37687

Tiger Valley Precinct
Hampton High School
766 First Ave.
Hampton, TN 37658

Third District
Central Precinct
Central Elementary School
252 Taylortown Rd.
Johnson City, TN 37601

Keenburg Precinct
Keenburg Elementary School
139 Keenburg Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Range Precinct
Fairview Baptist Church Fellowship Hall
585 Watauga Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Watauga Precinct (W)*
Watauga City Hall
104 W. Fourth Ave.
Watauga, TN 37687

Fourth District
Courthouse Precinct
Main Courthouse
801 Elk Ave.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Eastside Precinct
Eastside Elementary School
800 Siam Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

National Guard Precinct
National Guard Armory
128 Judge Don Lewis Blvd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Siam Precinct
Siam Consolidated Learning Center
2453 Siam Rd.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Fifth District
Happy Valley Precinct
Happy Valley Elementary School
1840 Milligan Hwy.
Johnson City, TN 37601

Sixth District
Elk Mills Precinct
Elk Mills Volunteer Fire Department
107 Poga Rd.
Butler, TN 37640

Hampton Precinct
Hampton Elementary School
408 Hwy. 321
Hampton, TN 37658

Little Milligan Precinct
Little Milligan Elementary School
4226 Hwy. 321
Butler, TN 37640

Valley Forge Precinct
Valley Forge Elementary School
1485 Riverview Dr.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Seventh District
Gap Creek Precinct
Happy Valley High School
121 Warpath Lane
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Westside Precinct
Westside Elementary School
1300 Burgie St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

Eighth District
Harold McCormick Precinct
Harold McCormick Elementary School
226 S. Cedar Ave.
Elizabethton, TN 37643

High School Precinct
T.A. Dugger Jr. High School
305 West E St.
Elizabethton, TN 37643