Carter Sports Hall of Fame announces 2023 class

Published 8:28 am Friday, February 3, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Adding to its list of luminaries, the Carter County Sports Hall of Fame revealed its 2023 class on Friday.
Bound for enshrinement from Elizabethton High are Travis Johns, Roger Childers, Johnny Goodwin, Valnessha Redd, Phil Pierce and Shawn Witten.
It will be Robbie Turbyfill, Taukia Hughes O’Donnell and Dakota Benfield for Cloudland, while Hampton’s representatives are Danny McClain, Chris Wilson and Bud Winters.
Happy Valley boasts three new members of its own — Kate Powell Wojciechowski, Kenny Hyder and Phil Goulds — as does Unaka with Wayne Christian, Renee Ensor and Kent Williams.
Others pegged for induction are Milligan’s Tonya Bailey Jenkins, Alvin Moore of Douglas, former media/softball stalwart Nina Gouge and Glen Hodge, who long served as the Elizabethton Twins’ public address announcer.
The hall of fame routinely inducts at least one honorary member. This year’s selection is Fred Julian.
The new class will be inducted this summer. A date for the banquet will soon be set.
(Editor’s note: Witten was voted into the hall of fame in 2022. His enshrinement, however, was postponed by a year due to a scheduling conflict).

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox