Carter County Democrats elect leaders

Published 7:49 am Thursday, March 23, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Carter County Democrats met Saturday, March 18, to choose leadership for the next two years. Officers elected include Diane Wilde, chair, Sharon Hart, first vice chair, Wayne Smith, second vice chair, Patricia Buck, secretary, and Barbara Murphy, treasurer. In addition, a 13-member Executive Committee was elected, representing all eight Commission Districts in the county. This group will oversee the Democrats’ outreach and campaigning efforts through the 2024 elections. Though a minority in Carter County, according to election data local Democrats number in the thousands. “Tennessee needs a healthy two-party system,” says Chair Diane Wilde, “and we intend to foster vigorous debate and competition.” Democrats are an inclusive party – a “big tent” – that works to promote community prosperity, equal justice under the law, and a sustainable future. The Executive Committee meets on the second Thursday of each month; the next meeting is April 13 at 6 p.m. in the conference room of the Parks and Rec building, 300 West Mill St., Elizabethton. Local Democrats are invited to participate in these meetings and add their ideas and energy to future programs and projects.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox