Carter County Sports Hall of Fame announces Inductions and Awards Ceremony

Published 11:43 am Friday, June 2, 2023

June 17 is a big day in Carter County as 24 former athletes, coaches and supporters will be inducted into the Carter County Sports Hall of Fame at 6 pm at the Tennessee Technology Center.  The guest speaker will be Christian Pope of Milligan University.  At noon that same day over 135 student athletes will be honored from the 2022-23 seasons.  Guest Speakers will be Richard VanHuss, Elizabethton Director of Schools. Tickets are on sale at or in person at Eagles Center Co-op in Downtown Elizabethton. All County Team tickets (15.00 -18.00 for CC) and the Carter County Sports Hall of Fame Tickets 20.00 -23.00 for CC)    The all-county banquet is at 12 pm and the Hall of Fame Inductions will be at 6 pm.   Doors will open at 11:30 for County and 5:30 for the Hall of Fame. Both Banquets will be at the Tennessee Technology Center; Address: 426 TN-91, Elizabethton, Across from the Airport. Over 135 Carter County athletes will receive awards, and 24 people will be inducted in the night banquet.  Great day for Carter County Athletes.
Listed below are the 2023 Hall of Famers to be inducted:
Dakota Benfield, Roger Childers, Wayne Christian, Renee Ensor, John Goodwin, Nina Gouge, Phil Goulds, Glen Hodge, Kenny Hyder, Tonya Bailey Jenkins, Travis Johns, Danny McClain, Alvin Moore, Taukia Hughes O’Donnell, Becky Sells Olinger, Phil Pierce, Valnessha Redd, Robbie Turbyfill, Kent Williams, Chris Wilson, Bud Winters, Shawn Witten, Kate Powell Wojciechowski and Fred Julian.
Athletes receiving awards are :
Elizabethton Football: Nate Stephens, Dalton Mitchell, Brad Cannon, Mason Williams, Eli Guess, Cade Russell, Caleb Campbell, Eli Williams, Wesley Shankles, Jeriah Griffin and Teddy Orton.
Elizabethton Girls Basketball: Renna Lane, Lina Lyon, Katie Lee, Olivia Holly, Reiley Whitson, Marlee Mathena and Maddie Fowler.
Eliz. Boys Basketball: Dalton Mitchell, Nate Stephens and Jackson Hobbs.
Eliz. Baseball: Peyton Johnson, Kaleb Hambrick, Hayden Nave, Brilee Hurley and Jack Farris.
Eliz Softball: Kenidy Harris, Ember Jensen, Cheyenne Poiroux, Lela Byrd, Maely Ingram, Molly Johnson and Emma O’Quinn.
Cloudland Football: Gage McKinney, Jacob Street, Cayden Clarke, Kyle Birchfield, Cam Peppers, Dylan McCellan, Silas Burleson, Auston Caraway and Cayden Cordell.
Cloudland Girls Basketball: Ella Benfield, Kendall Birchfield, Katie Baldwin and Ryan Turbyfill.
Cloudland Boys Basketball: Ryan Sexton, Gage McKinney, Cayden Clarke and Jacob Street.
Cloudland Softball: Kendall Birchfield, Ella Benfield, Ryan Turbyfill, Savannah McCoury, Layken Blair and Ewoyn McCoury.
Unaka Football: Landon Ramsey, Jamol Blamo, Joe-z Blamo, Marcus Shomaker, Ryan Peters, Brynin Repass, TJ Thomas, Brayden Powell, Isiah White and Johnny Douglas.
Unaka Girls Basketball: Hailey Taylor and Lyndie Ramsey.
Unaka Baseball: Logan Lewis, Landon Ramsey, Jamol Blamo and Brayden Powell.
Unaka Boys Basketball: Landon Ramsey, Johnny Douglas, Joe-z Blamo and Brayden Powell.
Unaka Girls Softball: Hayley Gilman, Trinity Bowers, Kylie Blevins, Jill Faust, Lyndie Ramsey, Mollie Buckles and Mattie Salyer.
Hampton Football: Geno Carrico, Johnathan Greenwell, Cameron Hall, Dylan Trivett, Dominque Burleson, Luke Belcher, Austin Bentley, Shayden Oliver, Will Thorton, Devin Ward, Levi Lunsford, Chance Point and Jonah Boiling.
Hampton Girls Basketball: Madison McClain, Linsey Jenkins, Piper Helle, Taylor Berry and Macy Henry.
Hampton Boys basketball: Cadon Buckles, Hayden Campbell, Michael Anspaugh, Dylan Trivett, Geno Carrico and Chance Point.
Hampton Baseball: Josh Whitson, Johnny Greenwell, Chance Point, Brody Hicks and Jayden Kuhn.
Hampton Softball: Cheyenne Fair, Ryleigh Nickles, Briley Davis, Mallory Lamb and Maleah Scalf.
Hampton Golf: Rylie McClain and Macy Henry.
Hampton Volleyball: Abigail Kelly, Mallory Lamp and Clare Clark.
Happy Valley  Football: Cole Deakens, Gavin Way, Pedro Colunga, Hayden Walls, Reagan Ensor, Gabe Macdougal, Joseph Sowards, Bronson Norman and Maliek Clark.
Happy Valley Basketball: Kadie Bailey, Mailey Guy and Marcinda Moore.
Happy Valley Baseball: Pedro Colunga, Tucker Shoun, Nakota Graham and Ty Johnson.
Happy Valley Softball: Ella Marvel, Reagan Street and Aleah Grindstaff.
Happy Valley Golf: Colton Pemberton and Cayden Anderson.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox