Bucketneers to open TBT play on July 21 in Cincinnati

Published 11:21 am Friday, June 23, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
ETSU alumni team takes on the Fort Wayne Champs in TBT opener
CINCINNATI, Ohio – The Bucketneers are set to make another run in The Basketball Tournament (TBT).
On Wednesday, the TBT – the $1 million, winner-take-all summer basketball event broadcast live on ESPN networks – revealed the eight-team bracket for the Xavier Regional hosted by Zip Em’ Up, a Xavier alumni team.
The Bucketneers, who are making their third straight appearance in the TBT, will take on the Fort Wayne Champs in the first round on July 21 at 3 p.m. ET inside the Cintas Center in Cincinnati, Ohio. The winner of that game will face the winner of Program for Autism and Team DRC in the second round on Saturday, July 22 at 6 p.m. ET.
The Xavier Regional championship game is Monday, July 24 at 7 p.m. ET.
The winner of the Xavier Regional will head to UD Arena in Dayton, Ohio for the quarterfinals on Sunday, July 30. The semifinals and $1 million winner-take-all championship game will be Aug. 2 and Aug. 3 in Philadelphia at the Daskalakis Athletic Center.
The Bucketneers, who are 6-2 all-time in the TBT, have advanced to the Sweet 16 each season.
The Bucketneers are organized by former ETSU basketball player Dillon Reppart, and coached by current ETSU assistant coach Joe Hugley. Former ETSU players Isaiah Tisdale (ETSU’s Director of Player Development, Jordan Coffin, and Patrick Good will all serve as assistant coaches.
The Bucketneers’ current roster includes:
  • Bo Hodges (2017-20)
  • Jalan McCloud (2017-18)
  • Isaac Banks (2013-2017)
  • Jalen Riley (2013-2015)
  • Jordan Bowden (Tennessee)
  • KeyShawn Feazell (Creighton, McNeese State, Mississippi State)
  • Antonyo Foreman (UT Chattanooga and Cal Berkeley)
  • Jalen Johnson (Tennessee, Wake Forest, Mercer)
  • Travin Thibodeaux (New Orleans)
  • Lamonte Turner (Tennessee)

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox