Miss Food City Pageant

Published 2:48 pm Tuesday, October 24, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Presented by WXBQ & Twin City Woman’s Club

Abingdon, VA – Miss Food City has become one of the most sought-after titles for young women across the region. The winner will represent Food City at events throughout the coming year, including the historic return of the spring Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway, as well as the Food City 300.

This year’s pageant will take place on Saturday, October 28th at 7:00 p.m. at The McGlothlin Center for the Arts at Emory & Henry College in Emory, VA. Miss Food City will receive $3,000 cash, a $1,200 scholarship from sponsor SGX NYC, a Mani/Pedi and Massage from Dragonfly Spa, handcrafted Austrian Crystal jewelry set from Simply Sarah Jewels, and other prizes.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Pageant tickets are $10 each. Children 5 and under are admitted free. Tickets can be purchased in advance by visiting https://www.foodcity.com/MissFoodCity. Tickets can also be purchased at the door the night of the event. A number of exciting door prizes will be awarded throughout the evening, including tickets to the Food City 500, Ripley’s Attractions, Dolly Parton’s Stampede, Wonderworks, and Titanic, along with Food City Gift Cards and prizes from SGX NYC Hair Styling Products, Deer Ridge Mountain Resort, and Jackson Mountain Rentals.

The pageant is sponsored by WXBQ-96.9 FM 24 Carrot Country and directed by the Twin City Woman’s Club, with event proceeds benefitting their sponsored projects/charities.

About the Miss Food City Pageant:

The first pageant was held in the Bristol Mall in 1992. Former winners include Janet Barton – 1992 & 1993, Meredith Blankenship – 1994, Tracy Wilson – 1995, April Elswick – 1996, Lisa Tollett – 1997, Christin Wilson – 1998, Erica Hembree – 1999, Amanda Greene – 2000, Misty Horn – 2001, Ronna Compton – 2002, April Owens – 2003, Kimberly Coen – 2004, Megan Ashe – 2005, Mally Gent – 2006, Britney Hagy – 2007, Jennifer Whittington – 2008, Lindsey Blevins – 2009, Melissa O’Neal – 2010, Elizabeth Robinette – 2011, Ginny Cole – 2012, Alex Honeycutt – 2013, Kayla Neikirk – 2014, Kassie Perkins – 2015, Azlinn Alder – 2016, Callie Corum – 2017, Hannah Everhart – 2018, Megan Stanley – 2019, Alexandria Alder – 2020 & 2021, Elizabeth McReynolds – 2022, Alexis Ramsey – 2023.