Cyclones recognized for efforts in Region 1 Class 4-A

Published 8:49 am Thursday, November 30, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...


Although the 2023 Elizabethton Cyclones didn’t reach the level they were shooting for in the 2023 football campaign, it didn’t stop Region 1 Class 4-A coaches from recognizing several players for their efforts.

Senior Mason Ball was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year as the end made life tough on opposing offenses and their quarterbacks throughout the season in leading the defensive charge.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Elizabethton also saw sophomore quarterback Rhett Slagle be pinned as the Top Underclassmen of the Year for the region.

Slagle overcame injuries in 2022 to step into the starting role where he had several outstanding games both with his arm and with his running abilities.


The Athlete of the Year for Region 1 was junior Jeriah Griffin who played a multitude of positions both offensively and defensively for the Cyclones from returning kickoffs and punts to running the Wildcat and quarterback on offense.


Cyclones selected to the All-Region team include Eli Guess, Ben Adams, Eli Blevins, Cam Baker, Zeth Mullins, Seth Campbell, Justius Wallin, Kyron Smalls. and Luke Whaley.

Named to the Honorable Mention team for Region 1 were Bryson Rowland, Landon Hughes, and Andrew Blevins.

Named to the Academic team for the Cyclones was senior Josh Hayes while the Newcomer of the Year for Region 1 was freshman placekicker Will Bowers.