Early voting for upcoming primary election begins Feb. 14

Published 3:28 pm Wednesday, February 7, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Star Correspondent
Early voting for the upcoming primary election begins Feb. 14 in Carter County and includes candidates running for president and several local offices.
Only one person is listed on the Democratic Party primary ballot in Carter County. Current U.S. President Joe Biden is seeking a second term and is listed on the county’s Democratic ballot.
On the Republican ballot, voters can choose from eight candidates, including former President Donald Trump, as well as Ryan Binkley, Chris Christie, Ron DeSantis, Nikki Haley, Asa Hutchinson, Vivek Ramaswamy and David Stuckenberg.
Several candidates for president have suspended their campaigns but their names remain on the ballot, per Tennessee law.
Republican Party primary voters will also choose from numerous delegates, individuals chosen to represent Tennessee at their party’s national nominating convention.
Locally, Carter County voters can also select Republican nominees for assessor of property, an unexpired commission seat, constable and the Carter County Board of Education. No Democrats have qualified to appear on the primary ballot for local offices.
Voters in the Sixth District can choose from incumbent Jason E. Clawson or Brian L. Keener for commissioner.
For assessor of property, residents can vote for John B. Holsclaw Jr. or Nicholas Shane Simerly on the ballot. Holsclaw currently serves as the local state house representative and Simerly works at the assessor’s office.
Incumbent Shannon Burchett is seeking the Republican nomination for superintendent of roads. Burchett was appointed by the Carter County Commission to fill the position in August 2023 after Roger Colbaugh announced his retirement.
Incumbent Keith Bowers Sr. is on the ballot for the First District seat on the Carter County Board of Education. Incumbent Danny R. Ward is running for the Fourth District seat, Nancy Lewis is running for Sixth District and Dylan Hill for Eighth District. All four are running as Republicans and unopposed on the primary ballot.
Michael Mason is the only individual on the ballot for Second District constable in Carter County. Mason was appointed constable by the Carter County Commission in July 2023 to fill a vacant position.
The winners may face Independent candidates during the general election.
Early voting for the March 5 primary is from Feb. 14-27 at the election office and will be closed for Presidents Day on Feb. 19. It is open from 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. Monday to Friday and Saturdays from 9 a.m. to noon.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox