ETSU College of Public Health earns prestigious award for community service

Published 12:30 pm Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The ETSU College of Public Health, a recipient of numerous national awards and accolades, added another feather to its cap this month when it was named the recipient of the 2024 Harrison C. Spencer Award for Outstanding Community Service by the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH).
This prestigious, nationwide award recognizes a school or program of public health that demonstrates a serious institutional commitment to addressing community needs through a range of activities, including education, practice and research.
“This award builds on ETSU’s long-standing commitment to the region, and reflects the incredible dedication of our students, faculty, and staff who are committed to enhancing the health and well-being of the people of our region,” said Dr. Randy Wykoff, Dean of the College of Public Health. “It is incredibly rewarding to be recognized by our peers for our community service, especially since it is something that is an essential part of the ethos of ETSU.”
Earlier this year, representatives from ASPPH came to Johnson City to learn more about the university’s signature public health programs. Some of those include:
Project EARTH: A program that teaches skills needed to protect and promote health and well-being in areas limited by resources.
Addiction Science Center: A unit that partners with many communities in Appalachia with a vision of freeing the region from the burden and consequences of drug misuse.
Weekly Public Health Updates: An initiative started during the COVID-19 pandemic by Dean Randy Wykoff that touches on leading health topics affecting the area.
Correctional Career Pathways: Established in Greene County, this project of the college’s Tennessee Institute of Public Health awards grant funding to counties to help criminal offenders break the cycle of arrest and transition into the workforce.
ASPPH is the leading organization representing schools and public health programs worldwide.
The Harrison C. Spencer Award for Outstanding Community Service began in 2018, and only the most elite schools and programs, known worldwide for their work and investment into communities, are nominated.
“I am extremely proud of this recognition and the world-class public health education at ETSU,” said Dr. Kimberly D. McCorkle, ETSU Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.
For more information about the ETSU College of Public Health, visit

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox