Carter County Commission names two new commissioners and one new constable

Published 1:30 pm Tuesday, March 19, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Robert Sorrell

Star Correspondent

Two new Carter County commissioners and one constable were selected and sworn into office on Monday evening.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In the Seventh District, Lesley Hughes was named the new commissioner to replace Daniel McInturff, who previously resigned. Hughes informed commissioners that she previously worked as a journalist at the Elizabethton Star. She has most recently served as the training and quality assurance officer at Carter County 911.

The Seventh District covers the Gap Creek community, where Hughes resides.

Jerry Stout was named the new commissioner in the Eighth District, which includes the city of Elizabethton. Stout replaces former commissioner Cody McQueen, who recently resigned.

Stout told commissioners that he is retired and previously worked at Nuclear Fuel Services in Unicoi County. He has also worked at the Carter County Jail in Elizabethton as an administrator under former sheriff Chris Mathes.

Most recently, Stout said he has worked at Homeland Security, where he resigned last year. He is also an adjunct professor in criminal justice at East Tennessee State University.

Shana Brower was selected to become the new constable for the Fifth District. Brower replaces former constable Mark Carrier, who recently resigned.

Brower told the commission that she has worked at the Carter County Sheriff’s Office for 13 years.

“I’m ready to be a working constable in District 5,” Brower said.

Brower lives in the Happy Valley area, which the district covers.

After being sworn into office by Carter County Mayor Patty Woodby, Hughes and Stout joined the commission on Monday evening and became voting members.

Commissioner Danny Deal, chairman of the commission’s Nominating Committee, said the three individuals were the only ones to seek the positions on Monday.

Following the resignations of McInturff, McQueen and Carrier, the county had public notices published in the Elizabethton Star to seek applications for two new commissioners and one constable.