Elizabethton and Unaka High Schools chosen by TVA for STEM grant 

Published 2:45 pm Wednesday, April 10, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...



Elizabethton and Unaka High Schools are two of 343 schools to be awarded a grant from the Tennessee Valley Authority, in partnership with Bicentennial Volunteers, Inc., a TVA retiree organization, to develop science, technology, engineering, and math education programs for students that will inspire interest in STEM-related fields.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Citing specific projects or programs they hoped to implement, educators from across TVA’s seven-state region applied for grants of up to $5,000.

“This grant will help us offer hands-on activities and programs for students that develop skills that can help solve real-world problems,” said Jerry Agan, Agricultural Science teacher at Elizabethton High School.

“We know that opportunities in STEM fields are the jobs of the future and TVA’s commitment to STEM education will allow us to begin preparing our students for those careers.”

Schools who are awarded grants must receive their power from a local power company served by TVA. Both schools are served by the Elizabethton Electric System.

“TVA is committed to supporting schools and educators who are inspiring an interest in STEM education in students across the Valley, as we know our young people will design and build the energy systems of the future,” said Jeannette Mills, TVA executive vice president and chief external relations officer.

“Providing resources and access to STEM education is key to inspiring innovation and we’re proud to contribute to the next generation’s visionaries.”

Since 2018, TVA and BVI have awarded nearly $6 million in STEM grants to support local education.

A full list of grant recipients, and information on how to apply for a future STEM grant can be found at www.tvastem.com.

Photo by Ivan Sanders

Present for the $5,000 STEM check presentation at Elizabethton High School were as follows: (L-R) Nicholas Castle representing Senator Haggerty’s office, Cody Woods representing Congresswoman Diana Harshbarger’s office, Hannah Parlier – Treasurer of EHS Future Farmers of America, FFA member John Odom, Elizabethton Electric’s Ken Markland, FFA President Dalton Sharp, Elizabethton Director of Schools Richard VanHuss, FFA Vice President Kaitlyn Crowe, Elizabethton Electric General Manager Brandon Shell, FFA member Diesel Russell, TVA’s Shalaina Julian, EHS AG teacher and FFA Advisor Jerry Agan, EHS Principal Dr. Jon Minton, and TVA’s Lana Moore.